RTS gold tinted belly

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mhaworth

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm fairly new to fish keeping and fell prey into doing a fish in cycle when I received the fish from the lfs and the guy told me I'd be fine. The rts is about 2 inches long and is currently in a 10 g soon to be upgraded when I get paid. I have been doing water changes everyday and she's seemed fine up until now. I don't have any water tests except for ph cuz that's all the guy told me I needed. Well anyway she's been flashing a bit, not too much but it's starting to get me worried. I put a flashlight up to her and I couldn't see any white specs so I don't think it's ich. But I did notice a bit of a golden tint on her belly. Anybody know what that means?

Golden tint usually means that it's velvet, get some good medication for parasites and it should clear up.
By the way, I'm not familiar with the acronym? If I knew what fish it was then I'd be able to help more.

ok so it's definitely velvet disease. i turned all the lights off in the room with the aquarium. pitch black in there. i took a flashlight to it and saw the gold dust in here gills mostly and in patches on her fins. I added some aquarium salt and am raising the temperature right now. my main concern is that it's really late at night and pet stores wont be open for a while so by the time i get medicine tomorrow will it already be too late???? please help me i dont want my Alice to die :(