Sadness :( :( :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dizzydea

Aquarium Advice Freak
It's when I thought I had this fish thing down I lost one of my orinoco plecos. I loved him dearly. Not sure what happened my water parameters are nitrite 0, nitrate 5-10 mg, ammonia .25 mg, ph 7.5. These levels are a bit upsetting because I just did a wc and I like everything to be at 0 besides ph of course. I did notice some of my danios fins were slightly tattered. I don't know if I'm just grasping at straws to figure out what went wrong but I think I see very tiny white spots. I have no experience with ick but this event is just very strange. Is a level of .25 ammonia enough to kill a fish? If it was ick wouldn't the signs be more noticeable? I'm fearing for all my little ones now I will post a few picks of my late pleco.

The first 3 are after he died and the last one is while he was still in the tank and I noticed he was suffering. In the last pic you can see some white spots on his side is this ick?

Attachments

• image-3762353562.jpg
    image-3762353562.jpg
    99 KB · Views: 92
  • image-288878008.jpg
    image-288878008.jpg
    89.4 KB · Views: 78
  • image-3912015072.jpg
    image-3912015072.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 95
  • image-1557802278.jpg
    image-1557802278.jpg
    122.3 KB · Views: 92
Here is one of the danios with tattered fins. It's hard to see in the pics but there are also some spots or fungus on the tail I believe.

Attachments

• image-3043034662.jpg
    image-3043034662.jpg
    180.5 KB · Views: 85
  • image-746826399.jpg
    image-746826399.jpg
    173.8 KB · Views: 78
Do some more water changes until your ammonia is zero. If your ammonia was at .25 after your water change then it was higher before wc. I couldn't see any ick from picture. How long have you had your tank set up? Did you recently change your filter media?