Salting tank for first time- HELP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HannahJo

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys,
I think there is something bad going on in my 72G community (mollies, platys, tetras, BN pleco). Noticed the black neon tetras have some weird looking spots/patches on them that appear to be greyish colored. They are not fuzzy patches- just looks like their scales are discolored. One of them has a gill that is injured. All of the fish are flashing a little bit but nobody else has the weird spots. Nobody is acting strange- still active and eating. I did not get any pictures of the tetras- they are so hard to get still.
I am leaning towards gill flukes or ICH? I introduced a few new fish last week (and the week before) without quarantining first (yep- my bad). I've never had any issues like this so it's my first time dealing with it but I want to try salting my tank before I try medication because I don't know what exactly is causing the issue. I've been reading up on salting and I've found this treatment (to treat illnesses): 1 tablespoon salt per 2 gallons of water.
Does that sound right? Lots of websites give different treatments so I'm not 100% sure which one to go with. Also note I am not doing a dip, I am treating the entire 72G tank.
Any info you can give me would be much appreciated as I've never ever used salt in my tanks before! THANKS!

Did you check your water parameters? Adding new fish can sometimes cause a disruption. Ammonia burns can cause some of your symptoms too

Yes- I checked as soon as I noticed the weird spots on tetras but everything is normal as it always is. No changes there. I'm very anal about my parameters :whistle: