sick betta =(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Venturer4life

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone,
I am a college student and unfortunately had to leave some of my fish at home as I can only have up to a 10 gal tank at school, which means, that the fish at home had to be cared for by my parents.

The other day I came home for summer, and when I got home, I did my rounds to look at/ take care of any needs of my tanks. (My parents unfortunately are horrible care takers, and I would never have them take care of my fish except for the fact that I had them all before I left for college and could not bring them with me. I tried to make it home every 2 weeks or so, but towards the end, I did not come home for around 4 weeks because I had a lot of work and finals to prepare for and take.) When I looked at my crown tail betta, he looked horrible. His color is gone, and on his fins he had pin holes and ammonia burn. He is also quite lethargic. It makes me so sad that my poor boy had gone from such a beautiful fish to one that was obviously neglected.

Here are some pics of him about a 3 years ago (though he looked exactly the same when I left after for the spring semester, albeit a bit bigger!) (sorry for the cruddy quality, I did not have my new camera then)

IMG_0808.jpg

IMG_0804.jpg

and here is him now

IMG_4447.jpg

IMG_4451.jpg