Sick guppy - Need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

justin2442

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

This is my first time keeping fish and last night I noticed a discoloration on one of my female guppies who just gave birth. I could not find anything similar to it online except maybe a fungal or bacterial infection, although it is not slimy or fuzzy in appearance. It almost looked like she had been rubbing hard on her left side.

This morning the discoloration is still there and it looks like she is developing a small white spot on her left pectoral fin. It is small and not raised but I am still concerned. She has been breathing heavily and keeping mostly to the bottom of the tank. She is still active and is feeding, but less than the other guppies in the tank. Does anyone have any ideas what this could be and what the best course of action should be?

The 30g tank has been running for almost three weeks and I have checked the water parameters about every other day since I started. They are:

pH: 7.4
Temp: 78
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0-5 (it is heavily planted so I am thinking that is why there is no nitrate buildup).
kH: 4
gH: Unknown
water changes: 5-10g every 3 days

I have lots of plants in the aquarium and a total of 5 guppies (and 20 fry as of Friday) and 9 spotted blue-eyes. Since I added my first fish I have not had detectable levels of ammonia or nitrite, although the males are constantly chasing her around which may be stressing her out.

I appreciate any advice. Thanks

Guppy 1.jpg

Guppy 2.jpg

Guppy 3.jpg

Hi Justin, I had a similar occurrence in my tank after one female dropped 27 fry. She exhibited symptoms similar to those in your pictures and passed away. In about 4 weeks, all remaining 4 adult guppies died. I suspected columnaris, and am down to 5 fry who seem healthy now (with frequent water changes).