Sick sunburst platy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mjessmer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello. My name is Melanie, we have a 60gal fish tank with a verity of fish there are about 28 in the tank together and all seem to get along pretty well there has been some occasional poking but nothing serious or often. We have had this tank for a few months now and everything has been going pretty well. However one of our sunburst platys is acting strange. She is at the bottom breathing very hard she looks like she is trying to swim but just kind of sinks. Her tail and top fin don't look like they usually do. I dont know what is wrong. She was okay this morning and none of our other fish seem to be having any other problems. We did a few test strips and everything seems to be in order there. I am pretty new to the whole fish thing so I'm not sure what to do. We separated her by putting her in the breeding net we have so the other fish don't mess with her but she isn't doing any better. Should I take her out and put her in her own tank? Is there anything we can do to help her?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Attachments

• 1475098434092.jpg
    1475098434092.jpg
    132.6 KB · Views: 85
  • 1475098479501.jpg
    1475098479501.jpg
    155.9 KB · Views: 63
  • 1475098498578.jpg
    1475098498578.jpg
    146.8 KB · Views: 62
  • 1475098520522.jpg
    1475098520522.jpg
    147.7 KB · Views: 64
28 fish? as in 28 platies? Thats quite alot, but platies are not big. Are there mollies?
Your fish has tail rot. You might want to invest $5.50 and feed the lot of them one of these antibiotics. The sick one may be too far gone already. That is alot of fish, i dont know much about platies, but your bound to run into problems. I have nothing against overstocking if you keep up your water changes, and dont overfeed tho.