Sickly Apisto

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mfdrookie516

Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
I hadn't seen my female for a few days now, so I figured she was under the driftwood tending to fry again. Nothing seemed out of the ordinary. While looking at my tank this morning, she was up towards the top in the corner, clamped fins, sunken stomach, and just looks generally beat up. Now, I'm not really experienced with apistos, so I may be seeing breeding behavior (ie the male beating up on her), so if that's it, then I won't be as concerned.

No new additions to the tank, the pair was actually the last addition back 2 months ago I guess. NO change in diet, nothing that doesn't normally go on. She will not eat today though. I put bloodworms, flakes, pellets, you name it in front of her and she refused to eat. That's what worries me the most.

Test results:

ammonia- 0
nitrite- 0
nitrate- 10-20 (they're hard to read!)
pH- 7.6 before the co2 kicked on

I'm sure everyone knows I"m a stickler for water changes, at least 50% a week. I've already done a 50% this morning and will be following up with at least one more today. I guess I"m just more curious on whether there may be something else going on, or if this is all completely normal and I'm overreacting.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated :)

I've never kept Apistos before but the thing that concerns me is the sunken stomach, clamped fins, and not eating. These are all signs of Bloat, the only other symptom missing is stringy white pooh. I think that isolating her and treating with a couple rounds of Jungle Parasite Clear would be in order. Walmart sells it and it's the only thing that I've found to work. This sounds like parasites rather than a victim of aggression.