Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-26-2020, 12:00 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Small bugs in tank?

I just bought some new fish and now I have a bunch of these small bugs. What do I need to do to save my fish from these bugs (parasites? ). Theyre all over the side of the glass on the inside and a bunch of on top of the water. Theres a ton of them. I have a 55 gallon tank. Any help would GREATLY be appreciated. Btw sorry this is my first post. I'm new to this lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200625_235212.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	134.3 KB
ID:	317192   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200625_235206.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	131.4 KB
ID:	317193  

Old 06-26-2020, 12:47 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie

I think they're springtails, but I'm not 100% sure. I've been trying to find out how to get rid of them. My fish seem to munch on them sometimes. Sorry for not doing more research before posting here.

Old 06-26-2020, 04:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

You could try lowering the water level so the return agitates the surface more, breaks up the surface tension and they can longer occupy the surface and drown.

If your fish occasionally will eat them, perhaps stop feeding them for a few days so they will clean up the problem for you.

Ive also just read that a hairdryer on high heat blown daily over the surface will burn them and force them under the water to drown. Doing that over several days will kill them off. Maybe give that a try?

In general, these things appear because the conditions are right for them. Do regular water changes, keep your aquarium in good order, dont overfeed or leave food uneaten. They should disappear over time if the conditions arent suitable for them.
Old 06-26-2020, 03:46 PM   #4