Strange Behavior

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dxbeast8508

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am fairly new to keeping mollies. I have had my tank a little over 4 months now and everything seemed to be doing okay. The other day an acquaintance of a friend was giving away some java fern and moss and my friend asked me if she could could me any. Of course I said yes, I wouldn't pass up the chance for some free lie plants that otherwise cost me an arm and a leg in the store. She said she had a pretty established tank and I felt comfortable with getting these plants. It has been about 4 days since i did my water change and added these plants. I tested my water today and it tested perfect. Some of my bigger mollies have rapid heavy breathing and are floating backwards like doing a back flip and then come back and swim like normal. Also I have noticed one of them scratching themselves on the gravel, plants and decorations. What could be happening here? Did I get infected plants? My smaller tank got some of the plants as well and my tetra seem fine. What can I do to see what the problem is or what can i do to help? I have two filters running and my water tests were perfect and my temp is just right. I am worried I made a huge mistake adding those plants.

I also rinsed them before I added them...

Last edited by a moderator:
Update, I think it might be ich. There are some tiny white dots on fins and body of a few fish. Is there any other illnesses that could mimic ich? What should I treat with; I have live plants.

I don't believe plants can host ich. I've never heard of it, but that doesn't mean it isn't a possibility.

Raise the temp slowly to 86.

Add an airstone if you don't already have one.

Do gravel vacs every 2-3 days.

Do this until 1 week after last spot is visible on fish.

LyndaB said: