Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2014, 11:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 36
Substrate or rock causing high ph?

So I've had trouble getting my ph down. Currently, it's about 8.2 and and that's down from originally being 8.4 in my 20 gallon. I thought it was my tap water so I started using 2/3 distilled water.

Now that I have a ph testing kit, I see my tap water is only 7.5 ph. Could it be from the substrate or rock decor I have in there? The gravel is sort of the typical blue covered gravel you get at pet stores and the rock is from petsmart. It doesn't say what it is made from online.

Some of the gravel is chipped, probably from me doing water changes or moving ornaments too roughly.

Any other possibilities?
__________________

__________________
joels3400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 12:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,011
Your Tank

Quote:
Originally Posted by joels3400 View Post
So I've had trouble getting my ph down. Currently, it's about 8.2 and and that's down from originally being 8.4 in my 20 gallon. I thought it was my tap water so I started using 2/3 distilled water.

Now that I have a ph testing kit, I see my tap water is only 7.5 ph. Could it be from the substrate or rock decor I have in there? The gravel is sort of the typical blue covered gravel you get at pet stores and the rock is from petsmart. It doesn't say what it is made from online.

Some of the gravel is chipped, probably from me doing water changes or moving ornaments too roughly.

Any other possibilities?
Hello joe...

Unless you're keeping and breeding rare fish, you don't need to fret over what makes up your tank water. Most aquarium fish will adapt to most public water supplies. Your pH is within limits for the fish. You do need to maintain a stable water chemistry, by changing half the tank water every week.

As long as you have decorations that are made for use in an aquarium, just make sure to change out half the water and do it weekly. Your fish and plants will be fine.

B
__________________

__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 12:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
venymae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 1,082
If you have coral (decor or sand) or limestone rocks, that could affect it, but if your fish are happy I wouldn't worry about it. Stable is the best.
venymae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 07:01 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 106
My tap water has a pH of 7.2 out of the tap, but when I let it sit in a bucket overnight it goes up to 7.8. I too was thinking my substrate+rock decor was raising my pH until I did the overnight test.
__________________
anibis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 08:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 400
I had trouble with ph, turned out that the shell I had in there was the culprit!
__________________
anteatergoanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 09:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 36
Thank you all for the replies. I appreciate the responses.

I think my ph is rising after I fill it. I read that the co2 releases after awhile and raises the ph. Will test it out
__________________

__________________
joels3400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, high ph, rock, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my UG filter causing my nitrates to be too high? Thilligoss73 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-09-2013 09:09 PM
what could be causing my high nitrates? linds3y Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 73 09-04-2012 08:46 PM
what is causing high ph? mumrah Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 06-20-2005 03:07 PM
High Ca and High Alk and HIGH pH! dansemacabre Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 07-07-2004 09:35 PM
High water circulation causing Algae boom?? Boxster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-30-2003 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.