syno catfish Bloating stomach

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

feinhorn

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am new to keeping syno catfish. I noticed that my catfish's stomach is very bloated. I hope all this means is that he is eating and nothing else is wrong. Is there anything I have to worry about? Is this normal?

First, is it swimming wierd, becuase if he is, then it may be a deasease call swim bladder. Also, It might just be that he is eating everthing that comes his way. :p

Yes, swim bladder infections may cause a bloated look (good call)... but I've noticed that a lot of fish, esp. cats, tend to eat until they're more than full. I've noticed this of my puffers, and more obviously over the Lima Shovelnose cats in the LFS. After feeding their bellies are rotund and extend an inch below the rest of their torso.

Also, swim bladder infections, though possible in catfish, are not nearly as prevalent as they are in goldfish (e.g. Red-Cap Orandas). The usual cause of bloat is dropsy or poor diet. I'd rule out poor diet, as synodontis are omnivores, and diet shouldn't as much an issue as it is with more picky fish like Lake Malawi M'bunas. I'd also probably rule out dropsy (interior bacterial or viral infections) as these effect not just the stomach region, but the appearance of the whole body. Is the rest of his body also swolen??

If it is, indeed a swimbladder infection, you'll want to take immediate measures. "Dosing the tank with an antibacterial remedy [e.g. Melafix] and/or aquarium salt may be effective in some cases" (Andrews et al: Fish Health. Toronto, Ontario: Firefly Books, 2003).

To rule out a swimbladder infection, you'll want to restrict his diet for at least a day or two, to see if his belly reduces in size. I find that many fish have very fast metabolisms, so bellies can disappear in a matter of hours or days.