White Spot Treatment

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Capt. Neckbeard

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all. Already posted this on a Reddit page but I'm impatient and got no responses after 30 minutes, so I'm reposting here to ask for some advice.

I've been keeping platies for several months now (over half a year at least), and just the other day I noticed one had a small white bump on it's head. From checking around I've worked out it's a case of Ich / White Spot, and I've bought some treatment from 'L<3ve Fish' to deal with it.

The problem I'm having is the instructions. I'll admit I'm somewhat dense in some of the actual science here, so I'll go through it point by point: the instructions say to remove the filter bio-media and the carbon before adding the medicine to the water. Is that safe to do? I only ask since, from my reckoning, it seems that the filter would be mostly useless without either of those, and I've been instructed numerous times by a fish-keeping friend that the bio-media is vital to the survival of the fish.

If it can be removed, is there any kind of time-limit on how long they can last without it? The treatment needs to be reapplied after 4 days, then the bio-media and carbon can be replaced. That's basically 8 days they'll be without either.

You dont need to remove biomedia, but removing carbon is essential. Carbon will just absorb any mediation you add to the tank and render it useless. Carbon is in the tank to remove organic compounds, which includes many of the active ingredients in medication. Removing carbon wont affect your biological filteration, as the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate that the biofilter removes are inorganic.