Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-21-2020, 12:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

White spots on tank

Hey! This is my first time posting here, so I hope I'm doing everything correctly!

About 2 weeks ago, I added platies to a new tank. Everything was going great so I decided to add one more yesterday and I didn't quarantine. All was well yesterday, and now today there are these white streaks (shaped kind of like shooting stars) that are appearing all over the walls inside the tank. I attached pictures of some obvious ones, but they are appearing all over. They wipe off just fine. The tank is still cycling, but I don't think that would cause this.

One of the original fish did have a white stringy poop - not sure if that would have anything to do with this. Could that be related? The fish seem healthy otherwise - they ate well yesterday and are all playful today.

Anyone experience something similar or know what this could be?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fullsizeoutput_1d.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	194.3 KB
ID:	315033   Click image for larger version

Name:	fullsizeoutput_1e.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	194.8 KB
ID:	315034  

Click image for larger version

Name:	fullsizeoutput_1f.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	184.9 KB
ID:	315035  

Old 01-21-2020, 01:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Hello kate...

How clean are you keeping your tank? The chances of a healthy fish in pure water conditions being infected by a pathogen or virus or anything else like this is very remote. So, even if you didn't quarantine this new fish, a healthy fish isn't at risk.