Why are my fish dying? (First tank)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

seabear

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Just started my first planted tank this year, so I'm new to pretty much everything.
A few of my fish (and shrimp) have died within the past month or so and I was hoping to get some insight. I feel like it might be a compatibility issue or possibly the Ich.

I have a 20gallon long tank, freshwater, Aquaclear 50 filter,
planted with 2 -13watt CFL's and 2 - 13watt CFL blacklights.
The tank was fully cycled (fishless) for a little over a month before I added my fish.

3 Cardinal Tetras
3 white skirt blushing tetras
1 black molly
1 neon guarami
2 male fancy guppies
2 female guppies
2 harlequin rasboras
2 cory catfish
2 japonica shrimp
3 cherry shrimp

2 of the cherry shrimp died pretty quick... not sure how.
then last week one of the guppies died.
2 days ago another guppy died
and today 1 of my cardinal tetras died.

I've noticed there's one white skirt tetra that seems to bully the other tetras around nipping tails... so he is one suspect.
Also semi-recently I noticed little yellow spots on my cardinal tetras... like a sprinkle of yellow salt on their body. Didn't think much of it until one died. Could it be ich?
If so... how could I treat/prevent it on the others?

Also I'm open to hearing advice on the selection of fish I have any maybe which ones shouldn't be housed together.

Thanks!

Attachments

• 10959478_793374974085521_8083551371876096804_n.jpg
    10959478_793374974085521_8083551371876096804_n.jpg
    122.8 KB · Views: 84
Schooling fish need schools.
Skirt Tetras are nippy and can be nasty, esp if you don't have enough.

Social fish should be in groups of 6 or more. Having a mishmash of this and that doesn't work well usually.