Is this a brittle star???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kae_shields

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am fairly new to the saltwater/reef aquarium hobby. I have admired it for years, and now I have my own 65 Gal tank with about 60 lbs of liverock. I have recently noticed anywhere from 2 to 4 or 5 long thin extensions protruding from a small hole in one of my pieces of liverock. They appear to be about 1 to 2 inches in length, and only appear at night when my tank lights are off. If I shine a light on them, the retract back into the rock. Could this be a brittle star living inside the live rock? I never see it come out of the hole, (in fact, the long arms pretty much take up the entire diameter of the hole when they are extended) and I thought brittle stars lived in the sand or under liverock and came out at night. Thanks for any help in indentifying this mystery. -Kevin

Sounds like it is a star, but possibly not a brittle. Brittles have spiky things on their legs, and there was no mention of these in your post. Being fairly new for you, and hoping that you already know this: Don't try to pull him out-his legs will fall off. He could very well reside there until he grows out of the hole.

Stacy

actually, sounds to me like you are seeing bristtle worms. These are very common in LR and just fine to have in your system. One warning is to not try to touch them with your hands. The bristles are actualy tiny spines that will break off under your skin and cause a fair amount of iritation.