Please tell me there ARENT aiptasia

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cloudxsoldier

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a couple of these polyps things that i know are ok (first pic) and i've been praying that they spread. ive been feeding them heaps for a few months and nothing.

Now I notice these things other things (that have been in my tank for months) get bigger and start growing longer tenticles. I'm HOPING they are small polyps/ Zoa's but I'm not sure.

Please confirm exactly what they are if anyone knows.

Attachments

• zoa.jpg
    zoa.jpg
    200.6 KB · Views: 145
  • aiptasia.jpg
    aiptasia.jpg
    250.2 KB · Views: 164
  • aiptasia 2.jpg
    aiptasia 2.jpg
    54.7 KB · Views: 146
The polyps in the first photo are paly's.

The polyps in the other two pics 'might' be aiptasia.

Thanks for the reply.

I'm really hanging out for some solid identification before I start trying to remove them. The last thing I wanna do is destroy them all and then find out that its my paly's trying to spread.

Some more Info to help:

I've had them for months but they arent spreading all that fast.
They do not move and I can't see their bases. They seem to come out from small holes in the rock. some have quite a long stalk.
Some are growing upside down under a rock ledge (there are actually a group of about 5 here) the second picture shows them.

Hoping someone can help
Thanks

Last edited:
They don't look like aiptasia, it does not have a thick base with clear stringy things, not sure what they are, but why take them out when they could turn out to be something cool.