Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Identification
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2006, 09:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fredericksburg Virginia
Posts: 112
re: ammonia levels

I have had my 75g tank set up for a week now. I have tested ammonia 3 times this week. Each time it shows the ammonia being 0. I thought there was supposed to be a spike. I have 80lbs of cured live rock in there and 4 inch base of live sand. Should the ammonia be higher by now?
__________________

__________________
scrmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 10:39 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
If your rock is cured, it may have enough bacteria on it that you won't see a spike. What are you feeding the tank to create ammonia?
__________________

__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 09:08 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fredericksburg Virginia
Posts: 112
I haven't fed the tank. I thought the rock would be sufficient for ammonia spike.
__________________
scrmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 09:54 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Yes but you need to keep the rock (bacteria) "fed". There has to be a constant source of food for the bacteria or it will die. Since your rock is already cured, there may not be any die off so even if it's just a few flakes every few days, that would help keep the bacteria going. Only until you begin to add your livestock. I would feed it for another week and watch the numbers. If everything stays stable, I'd begin to slowly add my livestock. HTH
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 12:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fredericksburg Virginia
Posts: 112
You mentioned flakes or could I use the raw shrimp method?
__________________
scrmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 01:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Yes, that would definately work too.
__________________

__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Levels catywamp Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-14-2009 06:01 PM
Ammonia levels m3drver Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 03-07-2008 09:37 AM
ammonia levels schmilnik Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 02-20-2007 01:24 PM
Ammonia levels SilverDragon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 06-13-2006 04:30 PM
Ammonia levels iuman1979 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 10-21-2004 08:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.