My 12g Nano Cube FW - It's all grown up now!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brian_Nano12g

Aquarium Advice Addict
I just wanted to give my JBJ Nano Cube 12g it's own thread. This was the tank that was given to me as a gift several years ago and was also "the reason" why I got back in to the hobby since I was a child and why I own 4 tanks now (possibly 5th on the way :hide:). It's funny because when I got this tank, I lived in a tiny apartment so I couldn't have a large tank. So I wanted a small tank with 'big tank' features or 'feel' to it. Being a big time newb, I got the Nano Cube without any consideration that it was meant to be a saltwater tank. I ran the tank with the stock 50/50 actinic lighting, thinking for some odd reason that the 'blue' light was cool, and the overpowered pump was alright for FW. I had the craziest amount of algae, my poor fish fought a current, and my low light plants didn't do so well.

Well, slowly but surely I started to ask questions here on AA and do some research on the web. Being that I was busy with school and work, I had little time to actually devote to this tank. But in small increments, the tank evolved along with my enlightened knowledge of aquaria. First the pump was switched out to something more manageable for FW (w/ flow control... thank God), then the lighting, and finally the substrate.

Changing from fake to live plants was the start.. but more recently, I changed the standard gravel to some Floramax (similar to eco-complete and flourite) substrate.. Also adding in the DIY CO2 and changing the bulbs for optimal 6500K/10000K light spectrum for growing plants.... All I can say is WOW... what a difference! Less algae, amazing plant growth, and just a newly found appreciation for my tank! Take the full plunge my friends.. you won't regret it!

I went from this... the OLD setup..