Question About This Picture. Can Anyone Help?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishCrazyBenBOMB

Aquarium Advice Addict
Ok there is a picture i'm going to post here below that I found, I think it's one of amano's tanks or something but see how the background is like light and goes into blue at the bottom and such.

How do they do that? Make the background look like that. Looks like it just goes on forever and it's in like a vally idk.

Here is the picture.

Ryuolayout.jpg

I'm a graphic designer, and to me it looks like a simple gradient back drop. A gradient is when two colors are blended together. In this case, white and a dull dark blue. The gradient occurs toward the bottom of the print.

I'm thinking a local graphic designer and printer might be able to help you out if you can't find something like that online.

Well I found out how they actually do this, i'll post it if anyone else is interested.

When they took the picture they will have had no background or a clear frosted sheet.

Then someone will hold an external flash just above the back of the tank (behind but above if you know what I mean)

So when the camera took the picture it got the light from the flash and as it gets closer to the substrate it gets darker (blue light goes further too)

A trick that is easy for someone with no equipment is to get a sunrise effect by laying a small standard incandescent or warm (3000K) light on the cabinet behind the tank and turning it on. You will get the rear colour yellowish at the bottom fading into white as it gets closer to the flourescents. You can also have a warm at the bottom and a red at the top with no flourescents at the top and get the yellow merging into the red and a darkened tank looking like a sunset etc. experiment with coloured incandescents. They are cheap