20g nano reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

don0101

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
anyone help me out what to do with my 20g high tank i want to go reef and all i have is a hob filter aquaclear 110 are they even good for saltwater ? ty for your time

For the HOB, you can cut the media rack up at the joints use them as dividers to make a small fuge. There are a lot of build threads online you can find. I would personally just keep it stock and run filter floss and chemipure elite in it.

Lighting can be a bit difficult for a high tank. Maybe look into T5HO or metal halides

ty

What is floss? im sorry im a noob do you know anyone who ever whent reef in a 20g tank ? because i can try to make a sump or something out of the 20g high and get a 20g long or something i just want to go reef in a 20g and what would be some good equipement you or anyone would reccomend and lighting also ty all

Its completely possible to do a reef in a 20 gallon tank. I have one in a 3 gallon! filter floss is that blue and white filter stuff that comes in sheets and you usually cut into the size you need.

Poly Value Pack

No need for a sump for anything under 50 gallons. Just keep up with 10-20% water changes a week. That is all that is needed.

For lighting, maybe Current USA Nova Extreme SLR. I think you would want the 30 inch saltwater version, possibly the 36 inch (there may be some hang over the sides, but not really an issue, better coverage IMO). I've used the Nova Extreme series from the SLR to the Pro's. They make really nice T5HO fixtures.

Aquarium Lighting for Freshwater and Reef Systems: Nova Extreme Compact SLR T-5 Fixtures