3D background .... my first attempt

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tiwaz

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am totally new to the cichlid thing but when I saw these backgrounds being done here I had to try.
rough pattern
img_1331446_0_8ea62644498a4541174f8748531f37d1.jpg

cut and laid out on backerboard
img_1331446_1_f401a83b8aaf231cfc1ba27df916ac92.jpg

after rough shaping
img_1331446_2_84e79c6a779dddc1d141447a06ff6198.jpg

final shaping
img_1331446_3_13d4d623c7ba9563a9478cfa061d0116.jpg

First coat of drylok
img_1331446_4_b9fc9e87a37dd273275aaefedd276fbd.jpg

After second coat stood up and I turned the flash off so that the shadows could show.
img_1331446_5_3eee75c77e258e347cae0e227f65f10e.jpg

I still have to colour it , but its a start.

you are awesome. my first attempt probably wouldnt have made it to the tank. what kind of paint did you use? how did you carve it?

Thanks, I carved it with the knife in the one pic above and a razor blade. Then quite by acident I discovered that the black spray paint ate into the foam. Then I thought instead of drylok or concrete I would cover ot with Fiberglass resin. However I mixed it a tad hot and it ate the foam some more. But that left it with what I think is a really cool texture. Then I used the drylok afterall. Then just random spray colours 8 in all.
img_1334689_0_dda29e69b0ed4f62255e0fbb356a51a0.jpg

Painted.

Tiwaz said:
Thanks, I carved it with the knife in the one pic above and a razor blade. Then quite by acident I discovered that the black spray paint ate into the foam. Then I thought instead of drylok or concrete I would cover ot with Fiberglass resin. However I mixed it a tad hot and it ate the foam some more. But that left it with what I think is a really cool texture. Then I used the drylok afterall. Then just random spray colours 8 in all.

Painted.