Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-09-2014, 06:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Aquaponics set ups

I know I'm not the only one that has one of these, but I wanted to share!

I've got my 55, the 10 gallon on my dresser that is empty/cycling, and now one of my two aquaponics systems set up. The media was still damp from the previous set up it was in, so hopefully the cycle won't take long!

The blue containers are 35 gallon Rubbermaid totes from Wal-Mart. The pump is a 300 gph pond pump from Lowe's that I got a deal on, it's heavily turned down and will likely be replaced by a 100 gph pump when I get one for energy savings. The fill/drain cycle is 7 minutes for one complete fill/drain.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1394404331009.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	226843   Click image for larger version

Name:	1394404483825.jpg
Views:	221
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	226844  

Click image for larger version

Name:	1394404529884.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	226845  
__________________

__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 08:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Love aquaponics setups! Yours are looking good, specially like the one outside. Hopefully I can set one up when I have space. Following, post photos when you get shoots!
__________________

__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 08:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Thanks, I've still got to pick up a grow light for the indoor set up. I added 5 mL of ammonia, which brought it up to 6 ppm. The grow media was still damp from the last time it was running (previous owner). I don't know if any bb are still alive, but I'm hoping that some are. Regardless I'll be pulling a sponge from my canister and burying it in the grow bed soon. Once the ammonia drops I'll feel comfortable introducing fish.

I was going to use goldfish, but I'm concerned about the size of my system. I only have 35 gallons, so I'm thinking maybe a bunch of rosy reds. I'm also thinking of starting some goldies in the 35 and then moving them outside because that system has a 70 gallon tank. I would grow food fish, but I just don't have enough room.
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 10:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Added the grow light today. 18 bucks at Wal-Mart today.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1394503687659.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	227162  
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 10:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Yes that looks better, specially since the grow bed level is considerably lower than the top of the container! Hope to see crops soon, do you know what the minimun water volume is to grow tilapia or any other fish that can be eaten?
__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 10:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
More than I have in there I'm sure. I'd reckon you would need like 300 gallons.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:32 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Picked up some broccoli and spinach today, the spacing is off because I have a sponge buried on one side of the media to kick start the cycle.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1394587854043.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	227393  
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Did you plant those directly or did they come from seeds?
__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,290
Very veryy cool bunny!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Purchased seedlings

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 11:02 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
andresdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Posts: 741
Awesome! Waiting on the flavor test then!
__________________
10 gallon planted RCS thread: https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ferrerid=36544

Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 11:24 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Also brought home 3 feeder goldies that are in the 10 gallon while the system cycles.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 01:41 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
misfitstimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southampton NJ
Posts: 37
Love the set up. Have one of my own using a 55 gallon and have to grow beds. Been going from seeds. Tomato loves it
__________________
misfitstimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 06:47 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Update:

Scrapped the indoor setup, moved everything outside. My plants stopped growing, not sure why, but the one in the pot is doing better than the plants in the media. Going to add fish tomorrow, did a 90% water change today to get the silt out of the water.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 06:48 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Note the plant in the pot is larger than the others in the media. Was adding fertilizers, but I'm just going to add fish and monitor closely.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1396738062979.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	231939  
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 06:55 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,290
Looks great!! Keep us posted on progress! Still Goldie's making the plant food?
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 08:07 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
Looks great!! Keep us posted on progress! Still Goldie's making the plant food?
Well now that I have some goldies that look like they're going to make it, I'm going to move them in tonight because I'm impatient.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:13 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Update: the 3 fish that have been moved to outside seem to be doing alright, despite the chilly water temperature, but it hasn't dropped below 50 degrees, so it's not terrible.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 09:53 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
My broccoli have their first blooms forming. My system finally is cycled and my phosphorous deficiencies are all solved with the fish growing in the bottom, these plants have taken off. in the last week they've doubled in size. Goldfish in the bottom get fed 2-3 times a day with peas often to prevent digestion issues and ensure plenty of poop is available.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1398905863171.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	235585  
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 12:29 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 329
Hurray! Great news.
__________________

__________________
cfosgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaponics, set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post pics of QT set-ups TLTGF Saltwater Reef Aquaria 41 08-25-2011 08:07 PM
Post your malawi cichlid set ups here. Spoor3773 Cichlid Discussion 4 06-11-2011 10:53 AM
Looking for others opinions on my current cichlid set ups (90g and 40g) Arborist131 Cichlid Discussion 14 05-03-2011 07:45 PM
Lighting set ups. sgc0286 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-09-2010 06:54 PM
what do you think of these set-ups? dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 05-03-2005 03:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.