Coconut cave info and question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kribensis

Aquarium Advice Activist
This week I started learning to make a coconut cave for my kribensis. Meaning, cleaning it out without cracking the shell. So, with that said....

I learned that after you saw the coconut open. Don't scoop it.... boil it. Boil it for 3 min after the boiling really gets bubbling. Wrince it in cold water and let it sit till it is cooled off 100%. It's like night and day. And for the ppl that don't know. Make sure you cut slots all over the place in it. So it can break out in sections.

My question...

My buddy told me I should just wrince the coconut shell and stick it in the tank. He said that the water turning brown may be something my kribensis may like, as they are african cichlids. Is he right? Would it be safe? I also have like 6 live plans in it. (java furn, and amazon sword plant). He did say that as I do water changes it will clear up. Otherwise... It's boiling it 30x

I have 2 half coconut caves and 1 whole coconut house. I drilled a 1" hole in opposite sides, using a hole saw, and with a hacksaw cut them in half, through the middle of the holes. Gouged out the meat with a screw driver and just washed the shell with clean cold water. Used a piece of sand paper on the out side to remove the hair like strands and rewashed them off. I took aquarium silicone and glued 1 of the coconuts back together to make the house, and let it set for 48 hours. I them placed the coconuts in my tank. The fish took to them immediately. Remember that with the house, tip it in all directions, underwater to get all of the air out of it. Good Luck!