Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-27-2015, 10:39 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Well I have it mocked up with 45s.. I still keep forgetting to get some sort of clamp to mount the pipes.. need to finish gluing them and get it assembled

I also have my arduino working.. on power on nothing runs.. I am required to press a start button to get the pump working.. That might not be a smart thing if it is a power outage while I am gone, but I can remove that if i need to. I can also shut it off with the same button. I might tweak the code to allow it to start on a power loss, it will however shut off if the Display flow switch is not closed (potential overflow)
__________________

__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 09:23 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Some pipes glued.. some just mocked up...






__________________

__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 11:43 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
If the Eshopps skimmer is using the Sicce PSK200 pump, that pump is submersible. Simply drop it into the sump

That's what I plan on doing.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 12:04 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
OI will have to check, it is a HOB Skimmer..

I bought before I decided to do a sump and I found I could not cancel or return it..

besides is fits nice the way it is
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 07:57 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
The fit isn't the problem. The pump may have to work harder to pull the water up the intake if it isn't high in the sump.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 09:33 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post
The fit isn't the problem. The pump may have to work harder to pull the water up the intake if it isn't high in the sump.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Guess I don't completely understand why.. it is hanging on the side, just as it would in the display tank.. Once I get all the tubing done and mounted I will be closer to finding out how well it works

going to be a couple more weeks..
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:18 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
When it's on the back of a tank, the water level in the tank is up pretty high (and thus high in the intake tube), and the pump only needs to work a little to get the water up and over.

In a sump, the water level is much lower in the sump (and in the intake), and the pump has to work much harder to bring the water up and over.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:18 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post
When it's on the back of a tank, the water level in the tank is up pretty high (and thus high in the intake tube), and the pump only needs to work a little to get the water up and over.

In a sump, the water level is much lower in the sump (and in the intake), and the pump has to work much harder to bring the water up and over.

Right. but where I am sticking the Skimmer the divider is pretty high and the next section will be lower.. so the section the skimmer is in will have a water height as if it were in the display tank
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 06:10 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Retired_AF's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 738
Just my 2 cents but..... I have a similar HOB skimmer as you have. I noticed that the foam for the return is pretty high above the divider. This should really be under water. You may or may not be able to use it. I'm not sure if you can extend it or not and still have it work properly.

Do you know how high the water level would be in the sump when the tank is working normally? What I did was fill the tank until it started filling the sump and then filled most of the sump with all the pumps off. Then I filled the sump to a maximum level about 1 inch below the top. I used a marker to mark my maximum level, then I turned on the pumps and adjusted the flow until I was satisfied with it. The water level near the pump will have dropped but hopefully not so far as to start sucking air. (If it does, decrease the flow until the water is well above the pump inlet.) Mark that water level as a max fill line for when you top off the tank to replace water that has evaporated. What this will do is make sure you have enough room in the sump to hold the water from the tank in case you have a power outage or a pump failure.

Additionally, I would find a way to catch the skimmate and not let it go back into the sump if you can use that skimmer. (You may have already thought of that but I figured I would mention it.)
__________________
Jim
Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into the little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....
Retired_AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 08:34 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
thanks for the skimmer tip.. dunno what the water level will be,,

I can however, put the skimmer on the back of the tank too.. that might be the best spot for it to work correctly..

I wish I could extend the output tube of that skimmer.

When I bought it the initial plan was to hang it on the tank and use a canister filter.. but maybe I should hang this on the back since the return would then be in the water
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 07:36 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Retired_AF's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 738
You can always hang it on the back of the tank. It looks like you are trying to keep your tank cleaner though. If you can hang it in the sump and make it work I think I would prefer that, but you may not be able to. Keep an open mind and good luck. The build looks really good.
__________________
Jim
Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into the little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....
Retired_AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 09:04 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retired_AF View Post
You can always hang it on the back of the tank. It looks like you are trying to keep your tank cleaner though. If you can hang it in the sump and make it work I think I would prefer that, but you may not be able to. Keep an open mind and good luck. The build looks really good.
Yep you are right..

It is going much slower than I thought it would.. LOL

Need to paint my PVC next..
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 09:18 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Retired_AF's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 738
I just had a 'duh' moment. The motor for the skimmer is capable of being submerged. Would it be feasable to hang it on one of the dividers inside the sump tank? You might have to add or change one of the baffles, but that could work unless you plan a cover over over the sump.
__________________
Jim
Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into the little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....
Retired_AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 04:14 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
I would like to cover the sump..

Progress is been really SLOW on this for me.. I will be gone the 1st part of June so I am not rushing to get water in it yet.. Plus I need to finish the Arduino code..
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 10:30 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
VERY Slow process..



__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 07:47 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Well I have water in the tank now FINALLY.. Wanted to wait until after my vacation just in case

I also added a second overflow, smaller diameter and the inlet is sitting high in the tank. after several iterations with one design, I rebuilt it secondary one last night and it is whisper quiet.. The return pump is running on an arduino uno. I need to added a float switch to save the pump from running dry, but so far I am making progress
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 02:21 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
seove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 113
I may not be able to answer that one since I have a different type.

Try here:
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Jeff=- View Post
Perfect.. @ 250-400 I can use one Overflow tube of 1" PVC.. I can build a secondary of 3/4" for emergency if needed then

So how would you segment the Sump??
seove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 02:27 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
seove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 113
I have the Rio 10. It is quiet as long as I don't let it touch the sides of the sump. I like the shock absorber feet that come with it. I have mine suspended with zip ties. Very quiet that way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Jeff=- View Post
Yes it is a Rio Pump..

I have to ask is yours quiet? I am still a long ways from water and such in my tank

I got my glass yesterday and after seeing more sump designs than I can remember I will have the bubble trap on the side by the inlet.. then a short wall by the return pump

I also have a couple float switches along with a 'ping sensor' I plan on using an Arduino Uno for some of the control. I am thinking ATO, but starting simple and working my way there.

I tested my Overflow which works well and I need to build a second one that is improved (or hoped to be improved) I am surprised my wife is not complaining about the PVC pipe in the family room next to the tank.. LOL
seove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 12:31 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
With my set-up now it is very quite.. I need to add the Ultrasonic sensor for pump off with too little water in the sump. I also have the ATO built in to the arduino code as well for my pump controller..

I got my Dry Live rock from BRS (Reef Safe stuff) once the epoxy hardens I will set it in the tank..

Coming along slowly
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 01:42 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
seove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by seove View Post
I have the Rio 10. It is quiet as long as I don't let it touch the sides of the sump. I like the shock absorber feet that come with it. I have mine suspended with zip ties. Very quiet that way.

Oops. It's a Rio HF-12 pump.
__________________

seove is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diy, diy sump, flow, question, questions, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over flow & sump questions Nick862 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 11-14-2014 05:11 PM
sump with over flow questions crb530 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-19-2010 01:37 AM
DIY Sump flow control question Ksnell DIY Projects 2 07-19-2006 11:48 AM
Single strong flow PH vs. Two with less flow tdthrows Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 05-27-2006 02:31 PM
Flow Flow Flow davebailey46 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 01-18-2006 10:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.