feeder tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

spaghetti81

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok. So im new to this and I bought an oscar. He eats a lot of minnows. I have an extra 20 gallon setup that I want to turn into a feeder tank. Is there any fish that is better for a feeder fish? Like grows faster produces sooner?. What do I need as far as decor?.. any help would be great?

"Minnow" is pretty generic. Seeing as their are hundreds of different species of varying sizes. Where are you getting them? Collecting them yourself, bait shop, LFS?

Here is my "minnow" tank. Though they are not feeders.

ForumRunner_20130302_091825.jpg

Guppys reproduce really fast and give birth to live young so they will probably make good feeders. You'd need to feed them a high quality food and feed them right before feeding the guppies to the Oscar to impart as much nutrition as possible. You should really buy a nice pellet food to be the main source of your Oscars diet though. They're specially formulated with all kinds of nutrients the Oscar needs and are much healthier than feeding just minnows 24/7.

I feed tje oscar blood worms and pellets. Lol. He is not picky :).. also I guess thay shows how much I know about minnows. Lol. I have just been buying them from a large chain store. But have extra tanks and would like to start doingbit myself. I will get the tank set up. This info should give me a start. I guess I have to look into it more in depth as far as kind. Guppies sounds good. Do u have any websites or anything that might help so I can tell the difference between male and female?