got a new aquarium nowhere to put it

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kwandrsn

Aquarium Advice Addict
ok I need to make a "cheap" stand for a 30 gallon bow front aquarium I just bought. only saw a have is a cheap skill circular saw.

I figured I would make a rectangular base but don't know about the top with the aquarium being a bow front

Ok would this hold a 30 gallon bow front.

6 2x4s for legs
The rest is 1x4s
The dotted lines are just filler 1x4s so I can put doors on it later

Sorry about the drawing I'm not very good at it.

And then I figured I would use plywood for the top and bottom not sure what size
Unless someone has a cheaper way to make a top and bottom.
Also thought of using 3/4x12 and butting them together to make top and bottom what you think?

I'm planning on making it 28" high

ForumRunner_20130114_195644.jpg

Dont use 1x4s. Use 2x4s all the way around. make a square base of 2x4 on the bottom. Double up 2x4s for the legs, then a 2x4 square top (that mirrors the base). Frame the whole thing with 2x4s and use simpson strong ties to bind the 2x4s to eachother at each joint. Don't trust your tank to 1x4s and screws alone.

Once you have it framed out pick out a nice 4x8 sheet of 5/8" birch plywood for the exterior. Pick up some 1/4 round moulding for the corners if you want rounded corners or some iron-on veneer if you just want flush corners. All this can be done with just a circular saw. If you want to make a stand to fit your tank exactly, you can get a decent jigsaw for $30.