How to replace top trim on tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishyrican

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am relatively new to AA. I have a question regarding the top trim on my 55 gal tank. I need to replace it because the center brace is broken. I have already ordered the trim and just need to know how to safely remove the old one. While searching AA, I found where others have had similar experiences, but no instructions on how to replace. Any help/advice you can provide would be appreciated.

Other info: tank is FW, in use in my office waiting room. Once I discovered the bowing, I drained the tank down to about 8" of water.

TIA