Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-01-2012, 12:53 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
Looking for direction

Building a sump/refugium for my 55 gal. I got a empty 10gal. ready to go. Just need to know what direction on equipment and size
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1878154296.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	103900   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1163830739.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	109.1 KB
ID:	103901  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1743989637.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	125.9 KB
ID:	103902  
__________________

__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:39 PM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
It will be very difficult to fit all your equipment into a 10 gal. Is there any way you can go larger? The bigger the better, and generally folks will recommend getting the largest sump you can fit under the tank.

What kind of sump are you planning on setting up? Are you looking to put in a fuge as well, or just for equipment?
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
Yes I mostly want to run a fug
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:54 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
I got a 20 tall but I won't have any room to work. I'm currently ruining a aqua clear 110 converted into a mini refugium which I plan on keeping bc it helps my water flow
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:49 AM   #5
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
It will be really difficult to get a skimmer, return pump, 2 heaters, and still have room for a refugium in a 10 gallon tank. A lot of folks will say if you can't have a fuge that is at least 10% of the DT volume, it is no good. For you that means over half the sump needs to be fuge, which will leave no equipment room.

I am not sure I subscribed to the volume requirement, however. Certainly any fuge size will have some benefit to the system... it just may not be a large benefit.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:59 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
My plan was 5" inlet 10" fuge and 5" return. That's with a double baffle before the fuge and a
single baffle after the fuge
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
Anyone got dimensions on a 20 gal long sump/refugium. I got all my equipment ready just need to get the glass cut and silicon it in

I changed my original plans and modified my stand to fit a 20 long
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
Looking for website to calculate size of cambers in the sump I'm trying to build. Anyone out there seen it. I swear I seen it in a thread weeks ago but can't remember.
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:11 PM   #9
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Hmm, haven't seen the website. My suggestion would be to size the first section as small as you can to still fit the skimmer, and size the last chamber as large as you can to allow for evaporation and top off. If you are planning on running an auto top off system that isn't as critical... but still you will want some volume to your return section. Whatever is left is the refugium.

In my 20, I think I have about 8" for the inlet/skimmer, 12" for the refugium, and 10" for the return system. It works out well, but I have an ATO. With the ATO off, I lose about 2" of water per day in the return section.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
Check this out 7.25" on the inlet, 10" refugium, 7.75" on the return. Almost 4" for power loss
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3014368426.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	138.7 KB
ID:	107228  
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:29 PM   #11
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I think that'll work ok. Are you doing an auto top off system?

How do you plan to light the fuge?
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:43 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
I got some sheets of 1/8" acrylic sheet for a lid to cut down on evaporation. Not sure about a light yet. I got a home depot 6" fluorescent on my AC110 home made refugium. Which grows the macro very well. Probably gonna keep that running as it contributes to the water flow
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:00 PM   #13
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Cool. I put one of those little $6 metal clip on work lights from HD on my fuge and put in a 6500K spiral CFL and it has kicked butt growing macro.

The lid will definitely help with evaporation.

I would recommend an ATO system if you can swing the cash. I think I got my whole ATO up and running for around $100 with dual float switches and a water tank that I spray painted black to match the aquarium stand. It uses an aqualifter to move the water, and only requires filling every 2 weeks.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:13 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
Do u have any links for that
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:18 PM   #15
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
For which?
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:45 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
For a ATO system
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 09:00 PM   #17
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
There are links to the ATO switches and the reservoir in the post above.

For an aqualifter, any aquarium site has 'em. I think I bought mine from Marinedepot when they were on sale for less than $10 each.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:34 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
Thx I'll look into that down the road.
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:36 PM   #19
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I can't imagine not having it on my tank... wouldn't ever go without one now that I have seen it work. Makes the tank maintenance free for basically 2 weeks at a time.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:37 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
Is my sump really gonna go through water that fast and why
__________________

__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direction

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.