Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-26-2017, 08:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 110
Plants in filter

Hey all,

I just saw this really cool tank that had plants growing out of their filter. I would love to do a diy version. I have an overhanging filter, and some pothos vines I thought I cold try it with. But I don't really know how to set it up. How do I keep the roots from messing up the intake? What else do I need to know?

Any and all help is appreciated!
__________________

__________________
AaronBurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 11:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,921
The roots can hang in tank instead of filter.
I will be adding plants to the tanks in my fish room this way.
__________________

__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 08:16 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TMaier's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,582
Plants in filter

I let my roots hang in the tank. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1942.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	261.8 KB
ID:	305276

I have taller plants in front so they really arenít noticeable.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Old lady with tanks...
TMaier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 08:53 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 110
Thanks for the reply guys! TMaier, your tank looks lovely! Just what I’m hoping to learn to do. Sorry if I’m being a little slow… So you basically let the roots drape over the output into the main tank? Also did you just use some large gravel to hold the plants in place or did you secure them some other way?
Thanks again!
__________________
AaronBurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 12:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tacit Blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 745
I bought some $3 clear plastic shower caddies and strung some black wire through it to hang with a 3M hook behind the tank. Filled it with black lava rocks to give the roots something to hold on to and then just planted some Arrowhead plant, some Pothos, and some Sensitive Plant. The tank this is in doesn't have a HOB filter, but I wouldn't want to risk the roots getting down into the motor impeller.
__________________
__________________
My tank log
My, um, other tank log
Tacit Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 04:24 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacit Blues View Post
I bought some $3 clear plastic shower caddies and strung some black wire through it to hang with a 3M hook behind the tank. Filled it with black lava rocks to give the roots something to hold on to and then just planted some Arrowhead plant, some Pothos, and some Sensitive Plant. The tank this is in doesn't have a HOB filter, but I wouldn't want to risk the roots getting down into the motor impeller.
Hmm Thats not a bad idea. I could try a mesh container with gravel to help contain the gravel/root system? If the roots get long I can always direct them into the main tank.
__________________
AaronBurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 04:52 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TMaier's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,582
Thanks! I keep Mystery Snails that will wander so I have a full hood with 2 2Ē openings for the canister filter intake and outlet hoses. I just lay the plant on top and fed the vine and roots through the extra room around the hoses.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Old lady with tanks...
TMaier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 10:28 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,921
I have a couple Marina breeder boxes that would work great IMO.
All you need is air to get water into box and to plants.It flows back into tank and has pretty slow flow rates which I would think would be beneficial...
I will start some plants in the boxes and see.
Here is a link to the ones I have[both large and small].
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...qXsL9RrCPzWBwC
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 08:35 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by coralbandit View Post
I have a couple Marina breeder boxes that would work great IMO.

All you need is air to get water into box and to plants.It flows back into tank and has pretty slow flow rates which I would think would be beneficial...

I will start some plants in the boxes and see.

Here is a link to the ones I have[both large and small].

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...qXsL9RrCPzWBwC


I am doing the same. Just started it up and put some ghost shrimp in it also. Iíve got my return flowing into it just to keep less equipment in the tank. Are you seeing any results? My stuff is rooting real nice now.
__________________
rsprangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 09:51 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsprangers View Post
I am doing the same. Just started it up and put some ghost shrimp in it also. I’ve got my return flowing into it just to keep less equipment in the tank. Are you seeing any results? My stuff is rooting real nice now.
I just added mine like last week . I was lucky Lowes got fresh plants in so I grabbed one for each Marina.The plants had pretty good roots after I separated them from the potting soil . As for growth of pothos I am sure they will go all the way around the room in time . In regards to effecting the tanks they can't hurt but my tanks are stocked pretty heavy.
Here is pictures of plants and Marinas before they went on tanks.
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post3478234
I did them and will do more mostly for looks in the fish room...But they can't hurt...
__________________

__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, plant, plants

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plants, Plants, Plants!!! black hills tj Archive 7 02-20-2010 11:31 PM
Plants! Plants! Plants! Must go quickly newfound77951 Archive 5 07-07-2007 10:33 AM
Plants, Plants, Ebay Plants fish_4_all Archive 0 04-08-2005 02:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.