Refurbishing journey of a 70 gallon 1/2 circle tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Slipstreme

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there,

I’ve posted previously and alluded to a major tank refurbish and overhaul, and though I’m decent at diy, and researching, I’m also not an expert in anything tank related. But I have decided to tackle my tank from a slightly different (not easier or less time consuming, necessarily) slant than other diy tankers, so I figured I’d post in case anyone else decides that they don’t want to do things the easy way ��

First: I have a gorgeous, initially very expensive (over 1k) half circle oceana brand tank which seems to be very rare, and isn’t findable any more. I love it because it sits flush against a wall, and takes up less space than a square tank.
BUT, the design was likely for primarily salt water, I think, so it has a bulkhead in The center of the tank which then leads to pipes and a sump in the cabinet below the tank. Also, the tank is as high as it is wide, almost, so it is a very tall tank, which makes it really awkward looking for small freshwater fish, as they get lost in the depth of it. We decided a long time ago not to mess around with salt, as we aren’t really set up for it, and don’t have a good area in our house to mix water, etc… so after realizing initially that tiny fish weren’t ideal, I went with cichlids and a fairly stark background, mainly to attempt to hide the bulkhead, and it’s been a cichlid tank for 20 years, happily.