Rewiring lights

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Beamesmar

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Has anyone ever rewired multiple Finnex 24/7 lights so that they work off of one IR receiver?

Each Finnex light has a separate receiver. I'm thinking about combining them all together into one receiver so that they are easier to control with the remote. Perhaps adding a switch for each so that I can control what lights are effected by the remote.

Has anyone accomplished this so far?

I wrote a speech but it got lost in the post.
Are you any good at electronics? I'm a novice........
You'll need a DMM and a decent solder station, of course the ability to solder and a basic understanding of circuits.

IR receiver, should have three legs. V+, Gnd, and out.
Split the V+ lead into a switch board (can function however you like, remote control or toggle) breadboard it first then strip board it, then stick it in a project box with ip rating suitable for the job.
You'll need the component number to identify which leg is which (+,Gnd,out).
Having said that, it should be easy to Id, out will only test for V+ when button depressed (or lower than supply to sensor), Gnd will usually have a much larger copper trace on the pcb and will be 0volts.
Usual continuity tests here.....
Be careful of chassis (earth) grounding and floating earth. Get them mixed up, sparks, magic blue smoke and a dead light unit.

My guess, the IR receiver transmits voltage depending on what button you push, so you will need to wire all ir receivers independently.