Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-27-2018, 06:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Angellove78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Hart,mi.
Posts: 1,649
Slow your flow...

Click image for larger version

Name:	20180326_210213.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	253.3 KB
ID:	308032shove your sponge filters into the outtake. Or just a sponge. Make sure they are clean regular sponges. Not the ones with bleach or used. I do this with all my betta tanks if the flow is too strong. Hope it helps.
__________________

__________________
Angellove78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 04:13 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,688
Nice. I donít have any flow for my Betta.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0460.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	256.4 KB
ID:	308035

There is no filter either and the water is noticeably clearer than previously.
__________________

__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 12:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Angellove78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Hart,mi.
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliban07 View Post
Nice. I donít have any flow for my Betta.

Attachment 308035

There is no filter either and the water is noticeably clearer than previously.
How often do you do water changes? I'd think your filter would be your plants and dirt substrate. But water changes would still have to take place. Course...
__________________
Angellove78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 12:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angellove78 View Post
How often do you do water changes? I'd think your filter would be your plants and dirt substrate. But water changes would still have to take place. Course...

I donít do them. I top up with evaporated RO water. My substrate is eco complete (I wish it was dirt). I get rid of nutrients by doing this.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0458.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	209.4 KB
ID:	308043

Then my duckweed can take in and grow, although nutrients are now so scarce in this tank the duckweed cannot compete with rooted plants.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EX700 slow flow Mark Hewitt General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 12-15-2010 08:44 AM
High Light, High Flow, Slow Growth Corals jonboyb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 10-18-2008 02:12 PM
RO/DI slow flow bromion Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-17-2006 05:52 PM
Flow Flow Flow davebailey46 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 01-18-2006 10:36 PM
slow the flow on filter HOLLIEO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-04-2003 10:36 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.