Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2013, 12:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
Sump build

Ok so a few weeks ago I started my first saltwater tank and yesterday began building a cabinet to house the wires and sump I am beginning to build. Started snowing this morning so no wood cutting outside today. So here is what I have: 40gb about 45lbs of live rock 30lbs aragonite sand salinity 1.025 and most of the way through cycle. I want to build a sump with refugium have a 10g to use as of now is that going to be big enough. I also have a 30g not in use if that would be better. Been researching designs online all morning anyone have a good design( more of a directions over video kinda guy)

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1490247883.jpg
Views:	197
Size:	127.0 KB
ID:	152526



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1507405549.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	98.0 KB
ID:	152527



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2385768656.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	135.4 KB
ID:	152528



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2495062186.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	152529



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3088432022.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	130.1 KB
ID:	152530
__________________

__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
You can use the10 gallon but a 30 gallon would be better. It will hold more media, skimmers ect. It will also give you an easier system to run and it will be easier to keep good water quality because there will be 40% more water. The bigger the sump, the better your options.
__________________

__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
Should have looked at it that way to begin with the bigger the better and I can use the 10g for qt
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
So the 30 is going to be too big to go underneath the stand guess I will b going with the 10g
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
So this is my design so far

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1994418712.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	144.3 KB
ID:	153211
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:10 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
Is there any place to put other than the skimmer to put media? I would have bio balls or something in a compartment before the live rock and sand bed. Make sure to have good mechanical filtration as well. Especially on the pumps intake. Sand in the pump would not be good.
__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
you could try this. I didn't draw the skimmer in the first picture because its for a HOB. Sorry. Theyre a bit vague because these were notes my friend jotted down when I helped him set his up. He used a 10 gal as a sump and there really isn't much space in them so I advise using hob skimmers. Good luck
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1740814089.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	144.3 KB
ID:	153320   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-222737236.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	146.4 KB
ID:	153322  

__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:45 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
Yeah the first one is more of what I am looking at I have the reef octopus BH-1000 so I am thinking about bringing the water down into a filter sock then into the skimmer then through some kind of media(bio balls or ?) then into the "refugium" area then to the return pump. Does that sound about right?
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:08 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
That sounds good.. You can use bio balls or preferably something more high end like seachem matrix. Very good quality. If you don't want to spend that much you can use bio balls or even a biobale. Both work fine.
__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
Ok I have the seachem matrix already. Should I build a cage or something to house it?
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:58 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
You could buy a net to put it in... Or media bags. Or you could make a strainer so they stay in their compartment. Egg crates may have to big of holes but you could look into them. If you want to build strainers check out uarujoey on YouTube.
__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 05:47 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
So I have an edge 6g with a crack in the top that I don't use looked over at it and got this crazy idea in my head that I am going to incorporate it into the system thinking couldn't I just use a lot of live rock in there and not have to worry with bio balls or the matrix Am I just crazy or would this work

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4239487405.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	146.5 KB
ID:	153491
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:02 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
That would work if you do it right. I'm sure you will. Jut be careful and thorough figuring it out. You don't need to use the extra media but I would advise it.
__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:28 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
So this What I have mocked up so far not using the hoses you see just there for reference

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1819889527.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	151.5 KB
ID:	153521

Will prob still put bio balls or something in where the skimmer inputs to the 10g
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 08:28 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
Sounds good
__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 07:43 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
Doing a test run tonight!

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3108105841.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	138.7 KB
ID:	153781



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2273480272.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	109.2 KB
ID:	153782
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:21 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raleighfishnerd View Post
Doing a test run tonight!
Looks good. It should work good too.
__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:32 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Raleighfishnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 744
Ended up only using the 10 but it is up and running like a champ
__________________
Raleighfishnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:27 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
czwicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 273
Bubble traps = waste of space. Get an auto top off and get rid of the bubble traps. More refugium room and ur compartment for your return can be tiny because you don't have to worry about low water.
__________________
czwicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 10:18 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 27
Thumbs up

Looks fantastic, keep us up to date how it works out.
__________________

__________________
jay9055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.