Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-24-2013, 12:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
want to build sump

So I one day I decided to start a saltwater tank and then I though of just getting rid off freshwater tank. Then decided agaist it but had to make a stand to hold both tanks since my living room is not to big. There 75 gallons so I build a sand with one tank at the bottem with only the front visible and then a tank on top with all sides visible. Now I am changing my mind and want to just do salt water tank. So can I turn this bottem 75gallon in to a sump? If so I dont want to drill either tank? I've never done this so need lots of help. Mainly on like what pump do I need? What size piping should I use fore the drain and returns?
__________________

__________________
charlieweaver21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
Sorry for got pics in first post.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130124_005624.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	146675   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130124_005636.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	146676  

__________________

__________________
charlieweaver21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: berlin NH
Posts: 198
you could, maybe on the large side for the show tank, but you could, turn into a sump, refugium. have room to put a skimmer in there also, you don't need to drill holes . just make or buy a overflow setup so the water will gravity feed to sump.. you will need to buy a pump that can pump up to tank about six feet of head pressure,
__________________
biss444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 12:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
Ok well I made a diy overflow with pvc, and bought the acrylic for making the sump part. Now how should I do this like the first chamber I figure ill but a protien skimmer next some live rock. Then do a bubble trap then the pump. Is that all I would need to do. I did a 1 in overflow. So now my question is what pump would u recommend for this size over flow?
__________________
charlieweaver21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 08:09 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: berlin NH
Posts: 198
on my fist part of the sump, where tank water enters i have a chamber where i keep my flosss cabon, and bio balls, not every one has that but its been working great for me, then my refugium, where my live rock chaeto and other algeas grow, skimmer, bubble trap than pump, i had to do alot of research on a pump, my sump is in the cellar below my tank, have about 10 feet of head pressure, to have to pump up, can't right now remember, size, rule of thumb is want tank to be able to pump through sump two to threetimes an hour. pumps usually say what they can pump on them per hour, per head pressure,not sure what you would need,you must have about four or five feet from your sump to the top of your show tank
__________________
biss444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:09 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would definitely drill the back pane of the top tank. Siphon overflows can fail. Gravity fed drains will never fail. Check out glass holes.com. They sell everything to drill your tank in simple kits. It's very easy. Once you do it, you'll laugh at how easy it was.
I would Put the skimmer first in the sump, in the intake area. You want pods to make it back to the display from the refugium. You want as little obstacles for them to overcome as possible.
I would also not use acrylic for partitions. These have a tendency to bow and pull away from the silicone. Go to a glass shop and have them make you partitions. It won't be very expensive, and you'll be happy with the finished product.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:45 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
alright i spent some money today and ive made my sump. I got a deal on a nice Coralife 125G super protien skimmer and i bought a pump with 480GBh at 5 feet. but i ran in to a big problem. my diy overflow i made with 1in pipe does not drain fast enough. Made a mess, good thing is i notice right away and got the power off pretty quick. lol dont wann do that again. So tomorrow when the home depot opens up im gonna grab some 2 1/2in maybe 3in. figure cant overflow if i over do it. once phone is working ill post a pic. So im really new to this still and not even sure what i should put in the sump. right now i have 3 like sections.

1st section
Intake drain
protien skimmer
2nd section
Live rock
Heater
3rd section
returm pump

so whats next?
__________________
charlieweaver21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:53 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
If the pump doesn't match your larger pvc, THAT may make it lose siphon as well.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: berlin NH
Posts: 198
yeah have to go with smaller pump or bigger pipe, you won't loose siphon if your overflow was built right
__________________
biss444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
If you are worried about the siphon failing. Just buy a overflow. Safer than drilling in my opinion. Search for siphon box overflow
__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:57 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
NOTHING is safer than a gravity fed overflow! LOL! C'mon people, please have some experience before you give advice!
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:43 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
NOTHING is safer than a gravity fed overflow! LOL! C'mon people, please have some experience before you give advice!
I see where your coming from but not everyone is comfortable with drilling through glass. And I'm not real sure what you meant when you said I don't have experience.... I happened to setup and plumb aquariums professionally for a few years. I think I know a thing or two. But again, I have to agree with you. I'm just saying don't drill your tank if your not comfortable doing it.
__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:48 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
The people that aren't comfortable drilling their tanks are the people who have never done it. Once you drill one tank and see how easy it is, your fear will be over.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:39 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
Drilling is best and its not hard. My local reef club has any number of members who are willing to drill a tank for free. See if you have a local group member that could help. But it's really not a big deal at all.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:20 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
So if I did drill would I have to empty tank out? Second if I drill in back would I be able to go high enough to have water level at least to bottom of black trim?
__________________
charlieweaver21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:41 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
Yes and yes
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:45 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
I've never drilled a tank up right. I always laid it down. The weight of the drill basically drills the hole. It would be hard for me to gauge that pressure with it up right. Also you will need some cure time on your plumbing. Make sure you put a towel under your drill site to catch the glass when it falls through.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:33 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
burf420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 153
What about tempered glass?i have a couple tanks that I'd like to actually drill but how do i know which panes are tempered. If any?
__________________
burf420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:26 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
They usually just temper the bottom. You can contact the manufacturer if you are not sure.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.