African Butterfly fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shilohgambino

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I just got 3 African Butterfly fishes, this is my first time dealing with such a fish with high demand. Where I live in the British Virgin Islands we do not have access to live food such as insects, krill, etc. Can someone please help me with an alternative food for them? I really like them and don't want them to die of starvation.

Try freeze dried foods,even crickets for reptiles should do.
You may need to make it move or place it in current so it looks live...

I wasn't quite sure where the British Virgin Islands, I'm in a state of study-induced fatigue, were until I looked it up on google.com to see if there were any stores around you. Having done that I can see just how unavailable pet stores are, I only see a couple on google maps. There are probably more (feels like I always miss something), but I can't see 'em.

I would still double check to see if there are any feeder insects for reptiles or any of the above suggestions available at your available store but if there is not I think I might have a solution. You could possibly try to find wild insects, make sure they are healthy, and feed them those. If you do have to resort to this, maybe see if you can breed your own feeding stock since this will let you guarantee the health of your fish feed.