Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-28-2014, 07:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: VA
Posts: 1,039
Aqadvisor Down?

I love messing with aqadvisor as I'm trying to decide what to add to my tank (please don't get into an aqadvisor debate right here- so not the point! Yes I know, just a tool etc etc...)

Lately though my shortcuts have all been redirected to advertisement sites and when I try to go to the websites home page it comes up blank. No other issues with any other website but aqadvisor. I've used both safari and firefox, so it doesn't seem to be browser specific.

Anyone else having that problem?
__________________

__________________
libertybelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 07:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
I've had the same problem. It's annoying because I also like messing with it.
__________________

__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 08:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: VA
Posts: 1,039
Glad it's not just me. Seemed unlikely given that no other website was giving me problems but still, good to know.
__________________
libertybelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 08:27 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Luananeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,676
The base site is working for me on Chrome: AqAdvisor - Intelligent Freshwater Tropical Fish Aquarium Stocking Calculator and Aquarium Tank/Filter Advisor

I agree, I love playing around with that site. I just wish they updated more frequently
__________________
Luananeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 10:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Aqadvisor Down?

I was also using Crome on my PC but I had no luck. When I tried on my iPhone I also had no luck.
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 11:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
I just tried on iPhone and they are up. Says they did some maintenance that didn't work but it's under control now.
__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 11:32 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fishfanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oregon
Posts: 264
Aqadvisor Down?

I just tried on iPad and I had no luck
__________________
Fishfanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 06:42 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Nope still won't work for me.
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 12:32 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Luananeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,676
Still IS working for me... How strange!
__________________
Luananeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 12:47 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: VA
Posts: 1,039
Still down for me on any browser but up on my iPhone *shrug*
__________________
libertybelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 12:59 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Luananeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,676
Okay, my inner troubleshooter is intrigued by this so I did some testing... It works on Chrome and Firefox for me on my work computer, but just loads a blank white screen on IE. My husband tried from home and it works on Chrome, but IE throws an error thinking it's a virus. Very odd!
__________________
Luananeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:05 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
schoeplein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,213
The site has definitely been infected with something. It's not an overly complicated site and I bet someone didn't change an admin password somewhere, or the host server isn't running with any security.

It wants to pull up BS websites on my Galaxy S3 (using latest Chrome or built in Internet, Chrome I tried desktop and mobile), same deal on my Galaxy Tab 3. Using IE11 and Chrome both glitch out (using Windows 8.1). Frames fail to load or it tries to redirect to another site.

I'm really surprised the hosting service hasn't taken a flame thrower to that server or restored an old backup. I'm guessing it hasn't been updated in ages, either...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
schoeplein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:08 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,296
It must have told hacker their 5 gal goldfish tank was overstocked and they took it personal..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:09 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Luananeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by schoeplein View Post
The site has definitely been infected with something. It's not an overly complicated site and I bet someone didn't change an admin password somewhere, or the host server isn't running with any security.

It wants to pull up BS websites on my Galaxy S3 (using latest Chrome or built in Internet, Chrome I tried desktop and mobile), same deal on my Galaxy Tab 3. Using IE11 and Chrome both glitch out (using Windows 8.1). Frames fail to load or it tries to redirect to another site.

I'm really surprised the hosting service hasn't taken a flame thrower to that server or restored an old backup. I'm guessing it hasn't been updated in ages, either...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Honestly I'm wondering if the website's been mostly abandoned. They haven't updated the site logic, software, or species list since March 29, 2012, and the last hardware update was a year ago. Hopefully they're still monitoring it occasionally so they can realize what's going wrong and fix it. There really aren't any other calculators online that come close to it (that I know of at least), and a lot of people rely on it (hence why there's 3 threads about it being down on this forum alone). Sure, it's not perfect by any means, but I loved having the quick sanity check to point my further research in the right direction.
__________________
Luananeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:11 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hulka9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 298
I read a post last week on another forum that it had been hacked. It wont work on my iphone/ipad and on my PC it works but my antivirus goes nuts. Sadly, I would stay away.
__________________
Hulka9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:19 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Luananeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
It must have told hacker their 5 gal goldfish tank was overstocked and they took it personal..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Wouldn't surprise me! You've seen how angry people get on here when they're told their tank is too small/overstocked, I could totally see a tech savvy inexperienced fish keeper getting vengeance on the site!
__________________
Luananeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:26 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,296
Oh man, deeper into the rabbit hole.. it was our faults.. we told someone that their tank was over stocked and they should check aqadvisor. To their dismay they were in fact overstocked and they couldn't deal with the fact we had been the ones to throw this aqadvisor in their face repeatedly.. and for that they made us pay by taking our precious stocking calculator away from us.. :mindblown: movie due in theatres next summer..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:41 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 288
I never noticed any redirects, on my machine it acts like there is bandwith and/or server/database problems and they probably don't want to spend the money to increase either.

I take that back, Chrome just redirected me to a fake Adobe Update site

__________________
MeCasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 01:56 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 288
Do NOT click on that false adobe update
__________________
MeCasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 02:05 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Luananeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
Oh man, deeper into the rabbit hole.. it was our faults.. we told someone that their tank was over stocked and they should check aqadvisor. To their dismay they were in fact overstocked and they couldn't deal with the fact we had been the ones to throw this aqadvisor in their face repeatedly.. and for that they made us pay by taking our precious stocking calculator away from us.. :mindblown: movie due in theatres next summer..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Oh god, what have we done! It's all true! We brought on the calculator apocalypse upon ourselves! If only we had known!
__________________

__________________
Luananeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqadvisor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AqAdvisor - How Legit? taylorodw Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 25 02-10-2020 06:09 PM
How stocked are you, according to aqadvisor.com? NODAK1979 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 03-17-2011 04:45 PM
What do you guys think of AqAdvisor? mandy2936 Aquaria Off-Topic 33 10-19-2010 10:16 AM
AQADVISOR - Strange stocking advice JerryO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 07-10-2010 03:53 PM
Stocking 20 gal-your opinion vs AqAdvisor. MrNitrite Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-27-2009 12:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.