Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 02-15-2017, 04:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 96
Aquaticplants.com is it legit?

So I'm wondering if this site is legit, I ordered some plants from them 3 days ago and am kind of worried about whether they are a legit site that will send me plants.

4 days ago I emailed them asking them if they would ship legal plants to CA residents, no response yet. 3 days ago I ordered 4 types of plants using their basic ground shipping method (because I'm kind of broke tbh, ordering a 5 gallon kit and everything needed to set up a shrimp tank took all my disposable income for the month, and I haven't even gotten any shrimp yet) on the order complete page it says they will email me when the item has shipped. I have not gotten an email after 3 days and I'm starting to worry. I know I selected the slowest method of shipping, but I would think they would have gotten to me about the next thing, which is that one of the plants I ordered is restricted and illegal in CA, this was an accident and so I emailed them yesterday about switching it with a legal, same cost or less substitute. Still no emails from them.

So are they legit? Or have I been scammed? Not trying to be pessimistic, but the lack of email communication, and little to no information on their site (my order page) is making me nervous.

Reykur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 06:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
Ironworker161's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ambridge PA
Posts: 76
Do a search on Google. If they're have been a lot of complaints about them it should show up there.
Ironworker161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 07:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 96
Buyer beware, read online review of websites before you buy from them. Never making that mistake again.
According to the majority of reviews, they should not be bought from.
They also charged me twice, 2 different amounts (one for the order itself, and one for less that I never ok'ed) so I have a fraud claim in with my bank, and if they don't ship the plants in 15 days, they will press legal action for the reseller to be held accountable, while refunding my money.
Mark (owner of the site) if you read this, just know that people don't appreciate this. Either you are trying to legally rip people off, which I have seen before and recognize, or you're simply not able to upkeep your business and are uncaring and rude to clients due to that. Whatever the case is, if I had a business, and read (200+!) negative reviews online about my customer service, satisfaction and product integrity; instead of acting like a defensive child (every negative review is accompanied by a review of how you acted towards your clients, and they all reflect how callous, rude and uncaring you have been towards people who have both tried to come to an understanding and work with you, and people who have been straightforward in asking for a refund. Many reviews attest to your charging for expensive, fast shipping methods and actually fulfilling orders using the slowest and cheapest means possible. This is considered fraud by many) I would ACT to prove them wrong by tightening up my business practices. Anything less than that is not enough, and you should not be in business if you aren't prepared to compete in the market by providing competitive pricing, customer service, and quality assurance. These are the basics of any business course, and should be taken seriously, as it can lead to legal actions being taken by financial institutions to shut your business down, and the financial responsibility that comes along with that is... Unpleasant.
Reykur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Barliman's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Los Angeles, 3rd door on the left
Posts: 2,212
I've had very good experiences with Planted Aquariums Central: Planted Aquariums Central Live Aquarium Plants
2x20-longs, one heavily planted. Platy rancher. They. Won't. Stop. Breeding.
Barliman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 11:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 96
I'm waiting for the plants to review the condition, but PlantDrafts (found on Etsy) has been prompt and professional. Giving me free snails with my purchase of some plants.
Reykur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 10:29 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 22
I was just looking at the instruction sheet that came with an Amazon order from Greenpro and noticed the domain name of www.AquaticPlants.us! I did a domain name lookup of AquaticPlants.com, and while the name is taken, there is no current website with that domain name, though there appears to be at least one other website (with different urls) that go by that name.

So, I have no idea if www.AquaticPlants.us is the same company, but I was very pleased with my order and will likely order from Greenpro again. They seem to have good reviews on Amazon, and Amazon should offer fraud protection. YMMV
fishtex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 02:20 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 96
Different companies.
The order ended up shipping on the 14th day (15 and my bank would refund it) and then all but 1 section of 1 plant (i salvaged it and it's doing great now) was still alive and usable. No contact, shipping updates or otherwise. At least I got hornwort for $20 I guess...
Reykur is offline   Reply With Quote

plant, plants

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AqAdvisor - How Legit? taylorodw Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 25 02-10-2020 06:09 PM
Does this site look legit? Zer0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-15-2010 09:29 PM
Visit to LFS (legit) Lepomis Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 04-22-2005 07:30 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.