Do fish feel Pain? The debate continues...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

targaboy78

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi guys,

I know this topic has been "done to death" but I read this article today.
LONDON (Reuters) - Anglers take note -- British scientists say that after years of debate, they now have proof that fish feel pain....

The research found that fish have receptors in their heads and that subjecting them to noxious substances causes "adverse behavioral and physiological changes."

"This fulfils the criteria for animal pain," said Dr Lynne Sneddon who headed the research, published on Wednesday by the Royal Society, Britain's national academy of science.
For the full article...
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=583&ncid=583&e=4&u=/nm/20030430/od_nm/odd_fish_dc

Without being a scientist by trade, I would say form observation that yes fish feel pain. All you have to do is see them fight and you can see that pain is involved. For example, you see two fish goin at it until one get gashed or bitten enough, and runs away. Why does he run away? if it didn't hurt, why wouldn't it just fight till it couldn't fight no more? And when they fight for territory, why does one seem to win? Obviously there is some emotion going on there, or one wouldn't shy away.

I sincerely believe that all creatures experience pain of some sort. To what degree? I don't think it is absolutely possible to know. I think that is a question for when we meet our maker.

Dude did you guys see what was on peta's website? craaazy people think they have a chance against eliminating fishing. Some of their stuff is completly justified and I give them props for that but the stuff like this really pisses me off.