Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-19-2009, 07:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
duct tape were have you used it :)

Lets all share our experiences with the wonderful invention called duct tape everyone list were you have used it on your aquarium or pond. Dont hesitate to tell us the crazy things you have done!!

I have used it on my background, wires,a cover over my eshopps overflow box to muffle the noise and a few hoses to temp hold them down
__________________

__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 08:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
I use it to hold wires together (I never have electrical tape D; ) used it one time to hold some wood together till i got some liquid nails. I use it for pretty much anything im too lazy to do right. And recently I actually used it on a DUCT, I'm so proud! XD
__________________

__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 08:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
i dont use it much but my uncle says duct tape can fix anything. as a youngen he was known for duct taping his shoes if he put a hole in it.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 08:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
lol alright man intresting were the wires on your tank?
__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 08:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
lol shoes really? awesome
__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 09:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I use it to hold up air lines for various reasons.
TC
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 10:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
i dont think i will question that one but cool
__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 10:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
I use Gorilla Tape now, pretty much the same thing, alot stronger adhesive. I use it to fix the kids toys, fasten various items to items, Never used it on the tank, duct tape and water dont do to well together over time.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 12:24 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mom2reds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lubbock Texas
Posts: 1,802
never used it on my tank but have used it with a little bit of bailling wire to fix a horse bridle or two, works well. my dad says that you can always fix something with bailing wire and duct tape.
__________________
mom2reds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 04:03 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,287
Does anyone know if duct tape conducts electricity? Friction tape isn't that expensive but I prefer to use shrink tubing when I can especially around my aquariums.
__________________
joy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 04:04 AM   #11
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 910
Send a message via AIM to MichaelsLilGray Send a message via Yahoo to MichaelsLilGray
Ive used it to rope off open wire till the correct fix was availible.. never had it give me any issues.
__________________
MichaelsLilGray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 07:13 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Duct tape is an insulator not a conductor.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 08:25 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
atomiclord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, WA, AUS
Posts: 107
haha never on my tank but it held my car's sound system together for a while until i got hold of some shrink tubing...
__________________
--~{ Kieran }~--
Ironically I work in a fishing store...
160L - Planted
230L - Still too expensive to set up


atomiclord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 09:43 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
lol
__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 12:59 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,067
I think it would be easier to list what we haven't used duct tape on. LOL! I'd say everything from a quick fix for a leaky tent when camping to holding my brothers bumper on his car (we called it West Virginia Chrome, LOL) till he got it to the shop.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 02:38 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 30
They use duct tape on nascar racing =)
__________________
Animal_fanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 05:22 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
good point animal i was in auto shop at high school one and the teacher had a box that was labeled fix all next to his desk i said hey duct tape lol
__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 05:40 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Floyd R Turbo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,682
I used duct tape to hold a headlight in place after an accident for about a year. I peeled out a big strip about 5 feet long, didn't tear it off, let the roll part hang down and spun it a bunch of times - duct tape rope! Stuff is super strong and holds knots well because you get the sticky side out!
__________________
Floyd R Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 05:40 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Floyd R Turbo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by joy13 View Post
Does anyone know if duct tape conducts electricity? Friction tape isn't that expensive but I prefer to use shrink tubing when I can especially around my aquariums.
I would suggest black electrical tape for anything electrical - I don't believe duct tape is rated for electrical use, it can dry out and flake apart, BET doesn't (PS I'm an electrical engineer)
__________________
Floyd R Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 06:41 PM   #20
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 910
Send a message via AIM to MichaelsLilGray Send a message via Yahoo to MichaelsLilGray
electrical tape is always for the win.. but when your in a bind.. its a good quick fix for the time being.
__________________

__________________
MichaelsLilGray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aquarium safe tape robert nellson DIY Projects 11 12-17-2008 12:55 AM
Flexible LED Tape for Moon Lighting ledfoot DIY Projects 0 12-17-2007 05:15 PM
Tape Grass anybody? SparKy697 Archive 10 05-07-2007 12:32 AM
Should I use teflon tape on pump in sump? Maximo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-13-2005 01:42 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.