Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2022, 09:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 44
To set custom tank L / W / H for gallons, do you add substrate volume to gallons?

Iím curious how people set the dimensions of a custom tank to get to their desired gallons.

If I knew I wanted a minimum of, say, 5 gallons, or 1,155 cubic in. a perfect cube of 10.5" L and W and H, and intended to add 2" of substrate and leave 1.5" of space from water level to brim, I would make the interior height 14".

As the dimensions would be for the interior (where I keep my water), Iíd add glass thickness to determine total dimensions.

So 0.25" in glass would make the exterior height 14.25", and exterior L and W 11.5". (Just examples.)

How do others go about it?

Thank.

__________________
LHotelUmbraQua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2022, 10:02 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 3,705
Tank volume is the amount of water it will hold when empty of anything else. The amount of water it will actually hold will depend on how much substrate you add, volume of any decorations etc. A 5g tank might only have 4g of water in it when these are taken account. Maybe even less if you have a lot of substrate and fill it with rocks.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2022, 06:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aiken Drum View Post
Tank volume is the amount of water it will hold when empty of anything else. The amount of water it will actually hold will depend on how much substrate you add, volume of any decorations etc. A 5g tank might only have 4g of water in it when these are taken account. Maybe even less if you have a lot of substrate and fill it with rocks.
Yes, I have been thinking about that as I plan a custom tank order.

I like math, and Excel, so I'm creating some EZ-fill worksheets to share. An explanatory thread is coming for the attached picture of one of the EZ-sheets.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tank Calculator.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	61.2 KB
ID:	322753  
__________________
LHotelUmbraQua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, custom, custom tank, gallon, substrate, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank volume US GALLONS OR IMPERIAL GALLONS WHAT DO I GO BY? em1981ma Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 09-25-2014 11:43 AM
How do i measure the volume of my new custom made tank? martintanks91 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 03-03-2014 05:56 PM
main volume + sump volume = more fish????? Dr.Nate Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 05-17-2005 04:54 PM
10 gallons 20 gallons or 30 gallons and up!!!!! cichlid555 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 04-04-2005 11:30 PM
Actual volume=tank volume-displacement from gravel, rocks... afFISHionado Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-20-2003 12:37 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.