Which is better?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lonewolfblue

Aquarium Advice Addict
Been looking at getting satellite radio for my new car, but was wondering which is better? XM or Sirius? Anyone have experience with either or both? I've been leaning towards XM, but would like other input first before making any decisions.

I have XM in my car (it's free for now) and I think it is pretty good. I have little experience with Sirius but didn't XM partner with Sirius a while back? I thought I heard something like that was in the works. May be worth checking into. Maybe prices will change...who knows for sure.

I use XM but I am likly to cancel now as I dont listen much anymore. I would say look at the offerings and see which fits your tastes better. Some have exclusive sports contracts so NBA is on one and MBL is on another for example.

In addition you may want to hold off as there is a proposal awaiting SEC approval for XM and Sirius to merge into one company. Since either company's radios dont work with the other it might pay to wait and see what kind of radio products come out or are announced after a merger. Both companies say their radios will continue to work but I have to think that at some point one of the satallites will go dark as the costs to maintain two signals would more expensive.

This is interesting....

http://money.cnn.com/2007/02/19/news/companies/xm_sirius/index.htm

"Given the government's history of opposing monopolies in all forms, NAB would be shocked if federal regulators permitted a merger of XM and Sirius," the trade group said in a statement. "It bears mentioning that regulators summarily rejected a similar monopoly merger of the nation's only two satellite television companies - DirecTV and DISH Network - just a few years back."