Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-12-2007, 10:14 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 901
Dije que "usted habla el Netherlands"


sorry kaaiope =). I'll stop now.
__________________

__________________
Watch our thread! A MyCatsDrool and Travis Simonson Joint Production....55 Tanganyikan Tank. It is hidden in the photography showcase. It is really my tank, but Trav is helping and we live next door from each other...so....

CCTV Has shut its doors. Off the air.
5.5 gal ADA rimless cube, fully planted, killifish breeder. coming soon to a forum near you.
It's called Sex Panther, by Odeon. Illegal in 9 countries. Yep, it's made with bits of real panther, so you know it's good.
MyCatsDrool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 10:24 PM   #22
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaaikop
I am just realizing that I was WAY too conservative with my dosings. I had never had any positive Nitrate reading in this tank... no kidding, with the small quantities I was dosing...
Using "Chucks" calculator, I have just realized how much I have to dose NO3 to get from 0 to, say 5 ppm... that is like 25 times what I was putting in my tank in a week, LOL.
I think you've found the solution to your algae problems. As long as you have good CO2 levels (I missed it if you ever addressed your CO2) then having one or nutrients bottoming out is the next likely suspect. Now that you know how much to dose to achieve sufficient amounts, I've got a feeling that algae is going to start beating a fast retreat allowing you to focus on the plants and aquascaping again.
__________________

Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 12:05 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 870
^ yep, that seems to work for me too... Make sure nothing bottoms out, and maintain consistent CO2 around 30ppm... You do that and that tank will be bursting at the seems with overgrown plants in about 4 weeks...

Sorry about the french diversion
dapellegrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:46 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Val-David, QC
Posts: 223
Send a message via ICQ to kaaikop
Great!!! I really think I'm on to something positive here. Somehow, I had to get away from it.
I mean, I had read that stuff over & over, but it just didnt register...

Same with C02, I'm figuring it out right now... I am targetting a pH of 6,2 (KH of 30 ppm), so that would give me around 32 ppm of CO2... But it's not easy to adjust...
I just noticed now, when I shut down the pH meter, the bubbles keep on counting... solenoid gone bad? and also, it's quite arbitrary... my KH is 30 according to my testkit (Hagen).
Yet it only measures by increments of 10 ppm, so if it's 25 or 35ppm makes a huge difference: 25 very good, 35 fish dies, right?

Hey no problem with the French! J'ignorais que vous parliez francais!
__________________
kaaikop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 10:09 AM   #25
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Actually you don't need to worry about your fish until your CO2 levels get over 100ppm. So you've got lots of wiggle room before you need to worry. I'd start with 6.2 for the pH and then maybe bump it down 0.1-0.2 if you're still having problems that would indicate low CO2 levels.

I don't have a solenoid, so I'm not extremely sure how they work. I do believe that it takes a little while for them to actually halt the flow of bubbles. However if it never shuts down the flow of bubbles then it could have gone bad. A way to test is to unplug the solenoid and see if it shuts down the flow or not.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 10:25 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
travis simonson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 2,073
CO2 bubble-flow should stop very soon after the solenoid shuts off (within a few seconds). If it does not then you may need to consider getting a new one. They're not too pricey and can simply be bolted in, in place of the old one.
__________________

__________________
ďThere is something in the quality of a good translation that can never be captured in the original.Ē
-William Gibson
travis simonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need sump help for 150g tank OscarGal DIY Projects 7 04-03-2009 10:05 PM
New 150g Tank Ziggy953 New Acquisitions 12 08-05-2008 01:21 AM
Need help with 150g tank. Obmanta DIY Projects 6 11-16-2004 11:09 PM
150g New Tank FireGirl Cichlid Discussion 14 03-01-2004 03:05 PM
Just purchased a 150G tank......... aimeovaldi Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 05-17-2003 03:14 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.