Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2011, 10:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,324
93ppm CO2?

I tested my 20g with a DIY CO2 and the pH is 6.2 and KH is 5. Basing on the attached chart, my CO2 is 93ppm? I have the CO2 underneath the intake of the AC50. Most of the CO2 are getting sucked in. If you'll look at the 2nd pic you'll see the crypt producing bubbles(pearling) continuously from it's leaf to the top of the tank. Like a line. What can I do to lower the CO2 level? Move the CO2? Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4072519692.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	34343   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2901153205.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	34344  

__________________

__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 10:08 PM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
My guess is, the pH is being effected by more than just the CO2. I doubt you have a DIY system that is that efficient (unless maybe you tested it right before the lights came on, and you aren't running an airstone at night, and even then that is really high).

What was the pH testing normally before you added the DIY system?

The KH pH extrapolation method works great... unless something else in the tank is effecting pH. The way around this would be to use a drop checker with 4dKH standard solution in it.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 10:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384
My guess is, the pH is being effected by more than just the CO2. I doubt you have a DIY system that is that efficient (unless maybe you tested it right before the lights came on, and you aren't running an airstone at night, and even then that is really high).

What was the pH testing normally before you added the DIY system?

The KH pH extrapolation method works great... unless something else in the tank is effecting pH. The way around this would be to use a drop checker with 4dKH standard solution in it.
I just tested it right now. Lights are almost scheduled to turn off. I don't have an airstone. Is that bad? I'm cycling too. Is that bad for the BB?

The pH is usually around 6. I did a PWC yesterday night too. Do you think that the PFS or dirt might be affecting the pH? The plants are pearling like crazy. All leaves are covered in bubbles. Also some swords are like the 2nd pic.

My drop checker is on it's way. I might get it any time next week.
__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 10:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
dirt for sure. drop checker is the only way to get a reading with the dirt because of the peat... at least, that's what I've been told


FWIW, I cut off the co2 to my 125 today to try it without... I'll let you know how it goes.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 10:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516
dirt for sure. drop checker is the only way to get a reading with the dirt because of the peat... at least, that's what I've been told

FWIW, I cut off the co2 to my 125 today to try it without... I'll let you know how it goes.
Were you getting the same result just basing on the KH and pH?

Thanks.
__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 10:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Yeah, but my drop checker told me otherwise. I estimated it to be between 20-25ppm based on the blue/green color I was seeing, as compared to the dark green of 30ppm.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 10:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516
Yeah, but my drop checker told me otherwise. I estimated it to be between 20-25ppm based on the blue/green color I was seeing, as compared to the dark green of 30ppm.
Ok. Are all your plants leaves covered in bubbles as well? I hope I get my drop checker delivered soon. So, I'll have at least an idea...
__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 11:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Not covered... but they do pearl, just not dramatically like some that I've seen.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY co2 diffusers out of odd things! (aka co2 diffuser Mk2) kennef DIY Projects 2 04-03-2007 06:12 PM
CO2 effects on fish - pH swings from CO2 neilanh Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 26 03-18-2007 12:51 PM
CO2 outgassing in "non-Co2 added" tanks hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 19 01-30-2006 02:59 PM
Milwaukee CO2 Regulator for $75 or for a 5lb CO2 tank kagentx Archive 0 09-14-2004 11:23 PM
co2 w/pump & reactor or co2 straght in filter? jubei Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-04-2003 09:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.