Absolute planted tank newbie, some basic questions and recommendations?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

eco23

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi everyone,

I'm an absolute noob with planted tanks so bear with me :)

The more involved I become with the hobby, the more ridiculous I feel that I have plastic plants in my tank, lol. I want to start transitioning from fake to real, but I'm overwhelmed with some of the info on planted tank websites...so I'm hoping you guys can recommend a few plants that would work for me.

I don't want to get involved with co2, or have anything high maintenance...just nice, simple, easy to grow plants. Here's my setup-

48 gallon freshwater

Duel Zoo-Med T-5 HO lights...
-1 "Ultra Sun" 39 watt 6,500K high intensity trichromatic full spectrum daylight lamp CRI rating 98 (don't know if any of that matters :confused:)
-1 "Coral Sun" actinic lamp, also 39 watt, short wavelength region of spectrum peaking at 420 nanometers (again, don't know if that means anything to you :))

Normal aquarium gravel

The only plants I have in there now are some Vals (some of the leaves are browning, I just started adding Aqueon plant food the other day), Java Moss and a Morimo Ball.

I'd love some recommendations on easy care plants that would work with my setup...thanks!!!

Oh, I also have 2 airstones I'm considering turning off...would that make a difference?

I've got a Fluval 405 which creates plenty of surface agitation, so I'm thinking the air stones aren't necessary for anything other than aesthetic reasons.

Also, any websites you'd recommend to purchase plants from?

(sorry so many questions!)

The coral sun bulb makes things look nice, but doesn't help much if at all with plants. Depending on the kind of plants you want, may want to switch out that bulb with another Zoomed "UltraSun" or "FloraSun".