Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-04-2013, 12:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mijo51380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 268
Adding a new filter to a old tank

I just added a new filter to my tank how long will it take to cycle? And when and how should you clean your bio media?
__________________

__________________
Mijo51380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 12:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mijo51380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 268
The tank has been up for 16 weeks and every time I clean my filter and turn on the filter it blows all kind crap out of it my guess is that it's coming from my bio media
__________________

__________________
Mijo51380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 01:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cgthebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In a house
Posts: 3,085
Yep, it shouldn't take to long, maybe a 2-3 weeks
__________________
36 gallon fresh water

10g saltwater
cgthebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 01:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mijo51380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 268
How often should you clean your bio media? And how would you clean it?
__________________
Mijo51380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 01:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mijo51380 View Post
How often should you clean your bio media? And how would you clean it?
Do you have a fluval? Those ribbed hoses are awful because crud builds up in the crevices and like you said when you start it up again the pressure blows it all out into the tank. Biomedia you can just swish through tank water every month or so. I'd dump the water from the filter into a bucket. Take out the trays and swish them in the bucket to remove any gunk. Place the trays back in and bring it back to the tank to prime. You don't want the biomedia to get dry or you will initiate a brand new cycle because the bacteria will dry out and die.
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 01:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,981
New Filter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mijo51380 View Post
I just added a new filter to my tank how long will it take to cycle? And when and how should you clean your bio media?
Hello Mi...

Everything with a surface inside the tank has beneficial bacteria living on it. Your new filter media will be colonized in just a few days. Beneficial bacteria grows very quickly.

I clean the filter media in my tanks when I change the tank water about every week. The filter becomes clogged and doesn't work as well if I don't. I also keep a lot of lava rock in my tanks, the porous rock has many places for the good bacteria to live, so if I remove some through cleaning, it reproduces to its former level in a few hours.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 01:32 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mijo51380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 268
Yes I do have a fluval but the hoses I use are not ribbed.
__________________
Mijo51380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 02:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mijo51380 View Post
Yes I do have a fluval but the hoses I use are not ribbed.
Ahh ok then it's the nastys in your filter. Just follow what I mentioned before. Also if you have polyfill that would help trap any debris before going into the output
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 02:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mijo51380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 268
And yes I have polyfil on the inlets of my filters so my RCS don't get sucked up and I also use it in my chemical baskets
__________________
Mijo51380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 11:20 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mijo51380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 268
Ok so I cleaned my bio media and its not coming from there it is coming from the hoses how do I stop this is there so hose I can buy that wont do this?
__________________
Mijo51380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 01:32 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Canary bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tenerife, ES
Posts: 586
I don't think so, I have a rena filstar xp3 and it does the same it's just build up in the pipes unfortunately ! , I just put a net over the pipe and catch all the crap !
__________________

__________________
I Love Anglefish
Canary bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.