Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-07-2014, 10:14 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
emerald76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,332
Amazon sword looking bad?

My sword isn't doing too well. It's in two inches of Flourite and floramax and was looking awesome before I added the floramax to the tank.

Lights are 1 36 watt fluorescent tube and I dose liquid carbon daily and leaf zone weekly
Here's the whole tank



Delivered via owl
Ministry of Magic
__________________

__________________
It's not a dumb question if you ask it.
Too many tanks? GASP! How could that be?
emerald76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:15 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,290
Root tabs applied liberally?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:17 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
emerald76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,332
Not yet, had it for about a month without tabs and it grew from 3 leaves to what it looks like in the photo minus the rotting parts. Did I plant it too deeply with the new substrate or something?


Delivered via owl
Ministry of Magic
__________________
It's not a dumb question if you ask it.
Too many tanks? GASP! How could that be?
emerald76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,290
You need to put root tabs in..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:31 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
You need to put root tabs in..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

+1.
Nothing to do with the plants...raise the water level. The HOB filters will push more water through them with the water level higher than it currently is.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:33 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
emerald76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,332
Oh yeah that photo is on the middle of a water change
So I need some root tabs. Okay thanks!


Delivered via owl
Ministry of Magic
__________________
It's not a dumb question if you ask it.
Too many tanks? GASP! How could that be?
emerald76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:40 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Oh, then you are forgiven
The Seachem root tabs are usually found in most LFSs and big box stores. Expensive. An alternative is osmocote+ fertilizer in the clear gelcaps (aka Mebbid's root tabs). There are several folks on here who make their own and sell/trade/RAOK them. I just started using them a few weeks ago. Starting to see new leaves on my crypts in my low light tank. I also put them in my high light tank but hard to say if it has had any effect. Everything, including algae, grow in there!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 11:15 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Coursair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area CA
Posts: 7,922
And it might be buried a bit too deep as well ? Make sure the crown isn't buried too deep, it's the part where all the leaves come together.


Smoke signals from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
My 10g Shrimp Jungle My 10g Rimless My 5.5g CRS Tank They are a work in progress
Vid of my Shrimp Jungle
~ Tina
Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 09:36 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,022
I've never used root tabs in my tank but I would increase your usage of ferts. You have new green growth and your older leaves appear to have a nitrogen deficiency.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mohican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 09:40 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
emerald76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,332
I dose 20 ml and it's only supposed to be dosed to 15 for my size tank.


Delivered via owl
Ministry of Magic
__________________
It's not a dumb question if you ask it.
Too many tanks? GASP! How could that be?
emerald76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 09:43 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,022
Not necessarily the amount but maybe more often vs once weekly.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mohican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 09:45 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,022
Here's a brief deficiency guide.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1418006731677.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	121.0 KB
ID:	257753  
__________________
mohican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 09:51 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,022
Try more root tabs too as others have commented if you feel comfortable with that too.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
mohican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amazon, amazon sword, sword

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does my amazon sword have cracked looking leaves ? candymancan Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 08-28-2013 01:44 AM
Amazon sword quit growing stems -melon sword too frostby Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 17 08-31-2006 04:26 PM
Amazon Sword Trimming and Reproduction bgcheese Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 09-23-2004 03:52 PM
Amazon Sword struggling Keeper Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 04-04-2004 02:21 PM
amazon sword, UP not out justDIY Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 06-09-2003 10:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.