Any Tips for: Hemianthus callitrichoides?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LemurLad

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm starting up a new tank and I'd like to get a carpet of Dwarf baby tears (Hemianthus callitrichoides) in it because they simply look fantastic.

Anyone have tips for growing them in as a carpet?

Double points to anyone who can point me to a good source for them. ;)

~LL

A source, as in where to buy? HEMIANTHUS CALLITRICHOIDES

https://www.aquariumplants.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=po212

I trust both of those sites as far as customer service, I have never ordered live plants from them.

To grow them as a carpet, you will need high lighting. If you have high lighting then you will have to balance your tank with ferts and possibly co2 to prevent algae and supply what the plant needs to thrive. I have no personal experience with this plant :)

I order from aquariumplants.com for all our tanks and I've had nothing but great service and quality from them.

Now as for baby tears, I've tried both dwarf and the non dwarf and have had no luck at all growing them. And yep, tried them in different tanks, different lighting, different substrates etc. If you find the secret let me know ;)

I'm starting up a new tank and I'd like to get a carpet of Dwarf baby tears (Hemianthus callitrichoides) in it because they simply look fantastic.

Anyone have tips for growing them in as a carpet?

Double points to anyone who can point me to a good source for them. ;)

~LL
grow it emersed so it spreed faster and gets rooted then fill the tank up.

High light, ferts (especially nitrates), and co2 will be the keys to growing HC. Give it these things and it will thrive. Slack off on any of those and it will not grow nicely. :)

Dry start method is good...just make sure you have the keys to growing it submerged.