Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-04-2019, 10:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

API vs LFS Nitrate tests

Hi everyone - sorry for the long post I just want to make sure I provide as much info as possible as I'm still a beginner. Thanks in advance!

My LFS tested my water and said I only have trace Nitrates however my API liquid test kit (I shook the bottles for like 3 minutes) shows 40ppm and the API test strips show 40ppm if I let it sit a minute or 2. They mentioned that the API test kits were sometimes inaccurate. They suggested I dose some nitrogen for the plants but Iím really nervous about adding nitrogen. I plan on getting slowly more high tech with the plants and fertilizers but I donít want to do too many things at once. Just want to make sure the tank is stable for the fish first. Should I buy a different brand test kit to see what I get? I plan on doing a 50% water change tonight to bring the Nitrates down if they are in fact that high.

API liquid tests:

0 ppm ammonia
0 ppm nitrite
40 ppm nitrate

API test strips:
40ppm nitrate if the strip sets for more than a minute but at their 30 seconds according to the directions <20

LFS test (I think theyíre using Fluval or Hagen liquid)

0ppm ammonia
0ppm nitrite
Trace nitrate - they didnít give a number but said it was lowest on their scale

History:

Did a complete tear down of the tank (except the filter) 1.5 weeks ago and changed substrate to eco complete. I have 8 different live plants and a moss ball. Since I didnítí change the canister filter I figured I had a good amount of BB left and only did a 10% water change a few days ago. I did add purigen to clear up the tank from the cloudiness of the new substrate.

Equipment:
29 Gallon Freshwater
Eco complete substrate
Marineland 160 canister