Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-02-2012, 10:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Aqualight 30" T - 5 HO Double Lamp Strip?

Was wondering if anyone had this and your input on this..good or bad.

Also if I out this on a 54g corner tank is that med. light for my plants?

I was thinking of leaving the 10k and adding a 6.7k light combo. Your thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:44 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Discusapisto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Erie, pennsylvania
Posts: 378
Is that the one zoo med makes?
__________________

__________________
Discusapisto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
It says coralife.
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:14 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Discusapisto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Erie, pennsylvania
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkbait54
It says coralife.
That's right I've heard good things about them that's perfect light for your tank. It will deff give you med light in your tank. Only catch is your 10k bulb it's a bit much for planted tanks it's more or less aimed at keeping corals. I've seen them on planted tanks though and it can work. I myself shoot for 67k or less and also go with a bulb that has the better par value. Are you using co2? Cause if you are 1 1/2-2 watts per gallon is where you wanna be. If pressurized co2 is what your using aim a bit higher if you want. If no co2 I'd stay on the low end to prevent a algae forest. Geisman bulbs or any t-5 bulb made in Germany are usually the best bulbs out there so look into those.
__________________
Discusapisto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:25 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Awesome thanks great info!!
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:48 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Discusapisto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Erie, pennsylvania
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkbait54
Awesome thanks great info!!
Your welcome post pics of light in action soon!
__________________
Discusapisto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:49 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Will do I'll order it. Should be here next week!
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:54 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Discusapisto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Erie, pennsylvania
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkbait54
Will do I'll order it. Should be here next week!
Sounds good!
__________________
Discusapisto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 04:08 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
gallowchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 106
Awesome light, i have a few of them. Built really well and link togther in a flash
__________________
gallowchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 09:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
I didn't know they linked? Very cool I can use that for when I switch to SW.

I've ordered should be here in a week or so!!! Yay!!
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 08:01 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
gallowchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 106
Yup you link them all together side by side all the cords go through the end peice and you end up with one unit.
__________________
gallowchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 08:05 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Well I'm getting it tomorrow I'll post pics on the tank
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:49 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Ok got it in today looks great I'll post a pic later. Is 10k 6.7k combo good? Does that still leave me at medium light?
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:50 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Discusapisto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Erie, pennsylvania
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkbait54
Well I'm getting it tomorrow I'll post pics on the tank
Can't wait to see how it looks
__________________
Discusapisto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:24 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
gallowchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkbait54 View Post
Ok got it in today looks great I'll post a pic later. Is 10k 6.7k combo good? Does that still leave me at medium light?
Well you have a 54 gallon tank and the light should be giving you 48watts per double tube so if you only have one then yes your under 1 watt per gallon. You need two of the lights to get you up to around 2 watts per gallon. I made a mistake earlier, I have the AquaticLife lights, and you said Coralife. What you have is a great light, don't know if you can link them together though. I'm thinking of selling my 30" lights, maybe your interested Upgrading to the timer t5HO with moon lights but 36"
__________________
gallowchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:27 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Oh ok. Well yes I have the dual t5ho they give out 31watts each.

I've been looking at this and I might at least have med. light

Thanks to aquachem for posting this.
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:30 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
gallowchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkbait54 View Post
Oh ok. Well yes I have the dual t5ho they give out 31watts each.

I've been looking at this and I might at least have med. light

Thanks to aquachem for posting this.

So you have just over a watt per gallon which is still low on the light scale. 2 watts per gallon is medium, 3 watts is high. Right now I have 2.25 watts per gallon and everyone is happy, growth is great
__________________
gallowchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:31 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
gallowchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 106
That chart isn't very useful because it doesn't list the wattage or bulb length. Single, double, triple etc doesn't mean anything if you don't know the wattage.
__________________
gallowchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:37 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Not to contradict you but I've heard multiple times from people on this forum and my lfs that watts don't really matter, especially in t5s cause they give out almost double what they have on the bulbs. It's more based on technology, reflectors, and even the brand of the bulb.

Again not to disagree I'm just very confused lol.
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:43 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
gallowchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 106
Its very confusing. The only true way is through measuring the LUX of the light (I'm a commercial photographer so light is my game). I agree that the tech side makes a difference, but the size of the bulb makes all the difference.
If I have a tank that is 20" deep but only 12" wide and I put 4 12" T5HO bulbs over it at 4" how is that too much light when the output of those light would equal the out put of a dual tube 24-30" fixture over a 30" wide tank? Going by the tube/bulb count doesn't make any sense. Yes HO kick out more light but not that much more, if I had to guess by eye I would say 25% more. Google it we might be able to find the answer LOL
__________________

__________________
gallowchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
48 Inch Coralife Lunar Aqualight T5 Lamp High Output Fixture Squall General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 12-07-2011 12:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.