Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2018, 05:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Rduhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Aquatek Regulator Help

I'm having an issue with my Aquatek regulator. It's connected to my Apex and I have it setup to operate on/off based on the pH. It's been in service for a week and has been working great, but now itís not shutting off. I unplugged the solenoid and itís still running. I was finally able to get it to stop by continually toggling the outlet on/off. Itís plugged into the Apex outlet controlled by mechanical relays. The solenoid works best in this outlet because of its low power requirement. I disassembled and cleaned the solenoid per Aquatekís instructions, butís it is still not shutting off. There is no audible click from the solenoid. Has anyone else had an issue with Aquatekís regulators? Iíve contacted Aquatek, but Iím not expecting much in terms of warranty. Although Iíve only used it for a week, I bought it last October. Iím wondering if I should replace the solenoid or go with another brand regulator entirely. Any feedback is appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Rduhb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 03:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Funken_A's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: North West USA
Posts: 279
1st of all a solenoid is electrical, and controls a valve for on or off.

a regulator is usually purely mechanical and requires mechanical adjustment to reduce the pressure from tank PSI to a lower more usable pressure (PSI)



SO if I understand you correctly you remove power completely from the solenoid and its still runs as if it was powered on.

I would say the valve itself, that is what the solenoid connects to is bad (not the regulator) and needs to be replaced.

Now if a solenoid is rated for low power and you apply the wrong power to it you can cause it to fry.. OS make sure the power ratings are 100% correct



So the only part that would be bad in the case of the photo above and IN MY OPINION is the aluminum bodied valve sandwich between all that brass
Funken_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, regulator

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquatek regulator problem? Tobykourtney Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 28 10-31-2013 05:34 PM
Opinions on Aquatek CO2 regulator??? Jill General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-26-2012 11:38 AM
Does anyone have any experience with Aquatek CO2 regulator? Ice Man General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-31-2012 04:14 AM
Regulator Solenoid with multiple outlets? (Aquatek) wilshire Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-08-2008 08:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.